February 2020 Reading List

Well, as January comes to an end (finally, might I add?), I find myself looking towards February – and debating what, exactly, I plan on reading throughout the upcoming month. And while I had a relatively successful month of reading in January (I read 6 books – yay!), there are still quite a few unread books staring at me accusingly from my To Be Read Box – making me feel even more guilty about my pre-orders that are already enroute!

So, as always, you’ll find that this list is a little bit of a mix of everything – older releases hoping to escape my To Be Read Box, new releases I can’t wait to pick up, and even a couple ARC’s I’m excited to crack open. Oh, and also? I still haven’t read Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon, but… one day, right?

IMG_0660

Continue reading “February 2020 Reading List”

The Stars We Steal (ARC) by Alexa Donne

Set to release in North America on February 4th, 2020, The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a gripping Science Fiction story about a young girl caught in a world of royal intrigue and lost love in her quest to save her family from ruin. Fans of Katharine McGee and Kiera Cass will be dazzled by this epic space romance that is sure to appeal to all ages of YA readers.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne, in exchange for an honest review.

Engagement season is in the air. Nineteen-year-old Princess Leonie Leo” Kolburg, heir to a faded European spaceship, has only one thing on her mind: which lucky bachelor can save her family from financial ruin? But when Leo’s childhood friend and first love, Elliot, returns as the captain of a successful whiskey ship, everything changes. Elliot was the one who got away, the boy Leo’s family deemed to be unsuitable for marriage. Now he’s the biggest catch of the season and he seems determined to make Leo’s life miserable. But old habits die hard, and as Leo navigates the glittering balls of the Valg Season, she finds herself falling for her first love in a game of love, lies, and past regrets.

Image result for the stars we steal alexa donne

Continue reading “The Stars We Steal (ARC) by Alexa Donne”

Most Anticipated Novels of 2020

With the New Year – and the New Decade – having finally arrived, it is time to turn my attention to the year ahead. And by that, I obviously mean which books I plan on reading this year. As usual, this list is predominantly YA Fantasy and/or Science Fiction, but since I am attempting to branch out (and as some of my favourite authors migrate to the Adult demographic), some other books have made it onto this list! That being said – this list is by no means inclusive, as it lists the novels I am most excited to read this year, not those which are (overall) most anticipated by the reading community at large.

*Please note that the following dates are based upon information provided by Indigo Books & Music Inc, and/or Goodreads, and that the below dates reflect the expected release date of a given book in Canada, as it is listed on January 1, 2020. Release dates are subject to change. 

IMG_0216

Continue reading “Most Anticipated Novels of 2020”

October 2019 Reading List

September was a crazy month for me – if you happen to follow me on Bookstagram, you may have seen that I accepted a new teaching role, and not only did I move into a new grade, but I also increased my work load to full-time! While this is thrilling and exciting (truly – it’s as if all my dreams are coming true!), it does mean that I have accrued quite the to be read pile!

So, as I settle into my new teaching role and my new routine, I am going to focusing on reading the books that are already on my shelves! These books are mostly ARCs that I received at the Indigo YA Fall Preview, though a couple are recent releases that I picked up in the past few weeks.

IMG_0217

Continue reading “October 2019 Reading List”

Skyward by Brandon Sanderson

Despite it being released in North America on November 6, 2018, I didn’t get my hands on a copy of Skyward by Brandon Sanderson until I unwrapped it on Christmas morning (you can check out my entire Christmas Book Haul here – I think it’s safe to say that my family knows I love books!). I am not normally a Brandon Sanderson fan, but with all the hype that Skyward has been getting, I simply couldn’t resist – and I am glad that I did end up reading it, because I simply loved it!

Spensa’s world has been under attack for decades. Now pilots are the heroes of what’s left of the human race, and becoming one has always been Spensa’s dream. Since she was a little girl, she has imagined soaring skyward and proving her bravery. But her fate is intertwined with her father’s–a pilot himself who was killed years ago when he abruptly deserted his team, leaving Spensa’s chances of attending flight school at slim to none. No one will let Spensa forget what her father did, yet fate works in mysterious ways. Flight school might be a long shot, but she is determined to fly. And an accidental discovery in a long-forgotten cavern might just provide her with a way to claim the stars.

Image result for skyward brandon sanderson

Continue reading “Skyward by Brandon Sanderson”

Christmas Book Haul 2018

Everyone in my family (and all of my friends) knows that I love to read, and so finding a couple books under the Christmas tree is a pretty sure thing! I am so excited to dive into these books (in fact, I’ve already read Sea Witch by Sarah Henning and I quite enjoyed it)!

IMG_8895

Below, you’ll find a breakdown of the books I received from friends and family as gifts, including links to their listings on Indigo!

  1. Ever the Brave by Erin Summerhill (Release Date: December 5, 2017)
  2. Educated by Tara Westover (Release Date: February 20, 2018)
  3. Sea Witch by Sarah Henning (Release Date: July 31, 2018)
  4. Mirage by Somaiya Daud (Release Date: August 28, 2018)
  5. The Devil’s Thief by Lisa Maxwell (Release Date: October 5, 2018)
  6. Skyward by Brandon Sanderson (Release Date: November 6, 2018)
  7. Fire & Heist by Sara Beth Durst (Release Date: December 4, 2018)
  8. The Storm Crow (ARC) by Kalyn Josephson (Release Date: July 9, 2019)

The Darkest Star (ARC) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Set to release on October 30, 2018, The Darkest Star is Jennifer L. Armentrout’s newest novel set in the Lux universe. In The Darkest Star, Jennifer L. Armentrout brings her trademark drama and intrigue to a new romantic YA science fiction series, presenting readers with a girl confronted by long buried secrets, a betrayal that could tear lives apart, and a swoonworthy romantic interest with dark secrets of his own.

DISCLAIMER: I received an Advance Reader Copy of this book from Raincoast Books in exchange for an honest review.

In the world of the Lux, secrets thrive, lies shatter, and love is undeniable. Seventeen-year-old Evie Dasher knows firsthand the devastating consequences of humanity’s war with the stunning, otherworldly Luxen. Evie was just a kid when the aliens were defeated, but her life was forever changed when her father, Sergeant Jason Dasher, was killed during one of the deadly battles. When Evie is caught up in a raid at a notorious club known as one of the few places where humans and the surviving Luxen can mingle freely, she meets Luc, an unnaturally beautiful guy she initially assumes is a Luxen…but he is in fact something much more secret-and much more dangerous. Her growing desire to know about Luc will lead her deeper and deeper into a world she’d only heard about, revealing secrets long buried, a betrayal that could tear her life apart, and an attraction that could be the very end of her.

Image result for the darkest star jennifer armentrout

Continue reading “The Darkest Star (ARC) by Jennifer L. Armentrout”

Obsidio by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Obsidio by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, released in North America on March 13, 2018, was perhaps one of my most anticipated releases of 2018. Despite my initial apprehension, I ended up loving Illuminae, then Gemina, unable to tear my eyes away from the video logs, journal entries, chat logs, hand drawn images, and visually stunning word art, I fell in love with the unique style I once thought I would find jarring, and I could not wait to dive into this unique world in Obsidio once again.

Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives from the attacks on Heimdall station and now find themselves crammed with 2,000 refugees on the container ship, Mao. With the jump station destroyed and their resources scarce, the only option is to return to Kerenza—but who knows what they’ll find seven months after the invasion? Meanwhile, Kady’s cousin, Asha, survived the initial BeiTech assault and has joined Kerenza’s ragtag underground resistance. When Rhys—an old flame from Asha’s past—reappears on Kerenza, the two find themselves on opposite sides of the conflict. With time running out, a final battle will be waged on land and in space, heroes will fall, and hearts will be broken.

Image result for obsidio

Continue reading “Obsidio by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff”

February 2018 Reading List

I am very excited for February 2018 – some of my most anticipated books for the early part of the year are coming out this month, including Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce (February 6, 2018) and Sightwitch by Susan Dennard (February 13, 2018)! It may be a busy month, but I know I’ll find time to read, because between these new releases and the books still remaining on my TBR, I’ve got tons of good content to get reading!

That being said, for February I’ve put together a list that combines the books I already own with a few upcoming releases that I am excited to add to my TBR pile!

  1. If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo (Release Date: May 3, 2016)
  2. The Last Star Burning by Cailtin Sangster (Release Date: October 10, 2017)
  3. The Cruel Prince by Holly Black (Release Date: January 2, 2018)
  4. Iron Gold by Pierce Brown (Release Date: January 16, 2018)
  5. Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce (Release Date: February 6, 2018)
  6. Tarnished City by Vic James (Release Date: February 6, 2018)
  7. Sightwitch by Susan Dennard (Release Date: February 13, 2018)
  8. Blood of a Thousand Stars by Rhoda Belleza (Release Date: February 20, 2018)
  9. Heart of Iron by Ashley Poston (Release Date: February 27, 2018)
  10. Furyborn (ARC) by Claire Legrand (Release Date: May 22, 2018)

What will you be reading this month? Let me know in the comments – I am always looking for more books to add to me TBR (even if I shouldn’t be!).