August 2019 Reading Wrap-Up

Hello Bookworms! As you may remember, I set myself some quite ambitious reading goals for August, because as the month began, I was definitely feeling motivated and ready to tackle another ambitious reading list! Despite this early motivation, I quickly fell into a severe reading slump – in fact, I haven’t actually finished a single book in the past two weeks! I just have not been in much of a reading mood, and no matter which book I pick up, I still find myself unable to follow through with it.

Despite all that, I still managed to read a few books during the month of August! This bring my reading total for the year up to 50/50 books, which means that I have officially completed my reading goal for 2019! My next challenge is to see if I can outdo my 2018 reading, which saw me read 82 books.

IMG_9966

SO WHAT DID I READ IN JULY?

  1. Red Skies Falling (ARC) by Alex London (Release Date: September 3rd, 2019)
  2. There Will Come A Darkness (ARC) by Katy Rose Pool (Release Date: September 3rd, 2019)
  3. The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen (Release Date: July 30th, 2019)
  4. Vow of Thieves by Mary E Pearson (Release Date: August 6th, 2019)

HAVE YOU READ ANY OF THESE BOOKS? LET ME KNOW!

The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen

Released in North America on July 30th, 2019, The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen promised to be a powerful debut novel, filled to the brim with vengeance, survival, and sacrifice – perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake.

A future chieftain – Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime. A fugitive prince – When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses – and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns. A too-cunning bodyguard – Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’s life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own? 

Image result for the merciful crow

Continue reading “The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen”

August 2019 Reading List

Hello Bookworms!

As you may remember, I set myself some quite ambitious reading goals for July – despite a large portion of my summer being dedicated to my part-time job, and another large portion to an online course I was taking. Well, I am excited to announce that I found the time to read a whopping EIGHT books during the month of July – and I successfully completed my online course! If you’re interested in knowing exactly what I read in July, you can check out my July Wrap Up.

That being said, I am definitely feeling motivated and ready to tackle another ambitious reading list this month! As always, this list will be a blend of older releases I haven’t yet found the time to read, new releases I am excited to get my hands on, and since it is #ARCAugust, a few Advanced Review Copies as well!

IMG_0318

Continue reading “August 2019 Reading List”

July 2019 Reading List

Happy Summer, Bookworms!

The beginning of July means the beginning of “summer vacation” for myself and countless other teachers – though my summer certainly won’t be all relaxation! Like many of my fellow teachers, a large portion of my summer will be dedicated to my part-time job, and another large portion to an online course I am taking.

Despite all that, I am still setting myself some ambitious reading goals – because I certainly hope my summer won’t be all work! Beyond this ambitious list, I am also hoping to complete some important updates to my blog and to get back into posting daily to my Bookstagram account!

img_0182.jpg

Continue reading “July 2019 Reading List”