Two Week Read-a-thon (August 17th – 30th, 2020)

Hello Bookworms!

As I mentioned in my most recent post, I have been feeling a wee bit burnt out when it comes to all things bookish – reading, blogging, etc. So, as a way to motivate myself to get back into the swing of things, I have decided to challenge myself to a two week Read-a-thon!

During the two week period from Monday August 17th, 2020 to Sunday August 30th, 2020, I will be doing my very best to read as many of the books in my To Be Read Box as possible. I will post daily updates on Twitter and Instagram, and I will also post a one week check-in and a wrap-up here, on my blog!

So, you’re probably wondering – what books are currently hanging out in my To Be Read Box? Well, most of the books in said box have been in there since June (since I received them as birthday gifts), with only a couple of newer additions from throughout July and August. These books include:

  1. The Midnight Lie by Marie Rutkoski (Release Date: March 3, 2020)
  2. Thorn by Intisar Khanani (Release Date: March 24, 2020)
  3. The Silence of Bones by June Hur (Release Date: April 21, 2020)
  4. The Archer At Dawn by Swati Teerdhala (Release Date: May 26, 2020)
  5. The Paper Girl of Paris by Jordyn Taylor (Release Date: May 26, 2020)
  6. A Peculiar Peril by Jeff Vandermeer (Release Date: July 7, 2020)
  7. The Princess Will Save You by Sarah Henning (Release Date: July 7, 2020)
  8. The Faithless Hawk by Margaret Owen (Release Date: August 18th, 2020)

I won’t be reading these books in any particular order. Instead, I will more so be leaning towards what I am in the mood/motivated to read – beginning with The Princess Will Save You by Sarah Henning. I have been excited to read this one for quite some time, so I think that it will be a great place to start this impromptu read-a-thon!

Remember – you can stay up to date on my two week read-a-thon by following me on Twitter and Instagram, where I will do my best to post daily updates!

The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen

Released in North America on July 30th, 2019, The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen promised to be a powerful debut novel, filled to the brim with vengeance, survival, and sacrifice – perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake.

A future chieftain – Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime. A fugitive prince – When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses – and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns. A too-cunning bodyguard – Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’s life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own? 

Image result for the merciful crow

Continue reading “The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen”