City of Bastards (ARC) by Andrew Shvartz

Set to release on June 5, 2018, City of Bastards by Andrew Shvartz is the sequel to last year’s buzz-worthy debut novel, Royal BastardsCity of Bastards picks up shortly after the conclusion of Royal Bastards, once again following the actions of the illegitimate children from various nations as they navigate an increasing complex and dangerous political climate. Fans of Cassandra Clare, Sarah J. Maas, and Victoria Aveyard, as well as the hugely popular Game of Thrones, will love this adventure, and this fantasy world, which is so accessible and fun that it’s sure to appeal to readers aren’t avowed fantasy-lovers right alongside the buffs.

(NOTE: I received an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review)

Tilla, bastard of House Kent, has it made. Safe from her murderous father in the dazzling capital of Lightspire, she lives a life of luxury under the protection of the Volaris King, alongside her boyfriend, Zell, and best friend, Princess Lyriana. So why isn’t she happy? Maybe it’s the whispers and stares that follow her wherever she goes, as the daughter of the traitor waging war against Lightspire. Or maybe it’s the memories of her beloved brother, Jax, who lies cold in his grave even as she tries to settle into a life in the city’s prestigious University. Then Tilla stumbles upon the body of a classmate-a friend. The authorities are quick to rule it a suicide and sweep it under the rug, but when Tilla herself is attacked by a mysterious man with terrifying powers, she’s convinced of a conspiracy. Her friends beg her to stay silent; what she’s suggesting is impossible . . . and treasonous. But Tilla can’t-won’t-let it go. And the deeper she digs, the more questions she uncovers. How is the West beating the supposedly invincible Lightspire mages in battle? Is it connected to the shadowy cult wreaking havoc in Lightspire? Nothing is as it seems in the glorious capital, and Tilla’s presence might just be the spark that sets the Kingdom aflame.
Image result for city of bastards

Continue reading “City of Bastards (ARC) by Andrew Shvartz”

July 2017 To Be Read List

Let me start this off by first saying – Happy 150th Birthday Canada! Today, many Canadian bookworms, such as myself, are out and about celebrating the “birth” of our home nation. So what are we celebrating up here in the Great White North, you ask? The year 2017 marks 150 years since Confederation – what many consider to be the official creation of the Dominion of Canada. And while we celebrate this milestone, it is also important to remember that for many Indigenous people (and non-Indigenous people, too), Canada exists on stolen land. While multiple First Nations have treaty agreements with Canada, others do not; there are unceded territories, and broken treaties too. It’s your birthday, Canada, so make a wish. And make it count!

IMG_1073.JPG

So, what will I be reading this month?

Well, after a crazily busy June, I have a lot of catching up to do; I’m hoping that a more consistent work schedule will help me keep more up to date with my TBR and my blog posting schedule, but only time will tell! I am especially behind when it comes to reading books I received for my birthday! That being said, much of this list may look similar to my June TBR, but there’s some new books on here as well!

  1. Now I Rise by Kiersten White (June 27, 2017)
  2. Obsidian and Stars by Julie Eshbaugh (June 13, 2017)
  3. Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvarts (May 30, 2017)
  4. Thief’s Cunning by Sarah Ahiers (June 13, 2017)
  5. Beren and Luthien by J.R.R. Tolkien, illustrated by Alan Lee and edited by Christopher Tolkien (June 1, 2017)
  6. Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau (June 6th, 2017)
  7. Spellslinger by Sebastien de Castell (May 4th, 2017)
  8. Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody (July 25th, 2017)
  9. The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell (July 18, 2017)
  10. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes (December 11th, 2012)

So, what will you be reading this month? Let me know in the comments!

Alanna’s June Reading List

This post may be a few days late… But better late than never, right? June is sure to be a busy month for me, what with the end of the school year and the start of summer camp just around the corner, but there’s always time for reading! Even if it has to be done in the dead of night when I’m supposed to be sleeping.

But who could sleep with all these awesome new and upcoming releases? (Plus some older releases I’ve finally added to my TBR!) I’m also thinking that I may just have to camp out at the book store on June 13, because wow! – so many books coming out on one day!

  1. Roar by Cora Carmack (June 13, 2017)
  2. Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab (June 13, 2017)
  3. Now I Rise by Kiersten White (June 27, 2017)
  4. Obsidian and Stars by Julie Eshbaugh (June 13, 2017)
  5. Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvarts (May 30, 2017)
  6. Thief’s Cunning by Sarah Ahiers (June 13, 2017)
  7. Song of the Current by Sarah Tolcser (June 6, 2017)
  8. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (July 3, 2012)
  9. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon (July 1, 2014)
  10. Beren and Luthien by J.R.R. Tolkien, illustrated by Alan Lee and edited by Christopher Tolkien (June 1, 2017)

Book Beren And Lúthien by J. R. R. Tolkien

Please note that the above release dates reflect North American publication dates; they in no way are guaranteed to reflect international publication dates!