Onyx and Ivory by Mindee Arnett

In the daring new read, acclaimed author Mindee Arnett thrusts readers into a beautiful, dangerous, and magical world in this stunningly epic and romantic fantasy for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah Raasch. Onyx and Ivory by Mindee Arnett was released in North America on May 15, 2018, and while I was hesitantly optimistic about this one, I am so glad that it was included in the May 2018 FairyLoot, because I absolutely loved this book!

They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate Brighton inherited from her father after he tried to assassinate the high king of Rime. Cast out of the nobility, Kate now works for the royal courier service. Only the most skilled ride for the Relay and only the fastest survive, for when night falls, the drakes—deadly flightless dragons—come out to hunt. Fortunately, Kate has a secret edge: She is a wilder, born with forbidden magic that allows her to influence the minds of animals. And it’s this magic that leads her to a caravan massacred by drakes in broad daylight—the only survivor Corwin Tormaine, the son of the king. Her first love, the boy she swore to forget after he condemned her father to death. With their paths once more entangled, Kate and Corwin must put the past behind them to face this new threat and an even darker menace stirring in the kingdom.

(Cover Photo Credits: Paws & Paperbacks)

Image result for onyx & ivory mindee arnett

Continue reading “Onyx and Ivory by Mindee Arnett”

May 2018 FairyLoot Unboxing

After several months, I am back with another FairyLoot Unboxing! I was so excited to finally be able to snag another one of these boxes! In January 2018, I made the difficult decision to suspend my subscription for financial reasons, but I always knew I’d be willing to snag another box if the opportunity arose!

SO WHAT IS FAIRYLOOT?

FairyLoot is a monthly book subscription box that specializes in Young Adult Fantasy books, based out of London, England. Recent themes include “Oh So Regal” (December 2017), “Talk Faerie to Me” (January 2018), and Whimsical Journeys (April 2018). Every month they have a different theme and select an exciting newly released fantasy novel, in addition to 4-6 hand selected goodies – like book inspired teas, candles, bookmarks, tote bags, and more!

So, how can you get a FairyLoot box of your own (because once you see the awesome books and all the awesome loot in them, I know you’ll want one too)? For more information, check out FairyLoot’s website!

AND, IF YOU DECIDE TO SUBSCRIBE? CHECK OUT MY FAIRYLOOT PAGE FOR CURRENT DISCOUNT CODES FOR 3 AND 6 MONTH SUBSCRIPTIONS!

So now, on to the exciting part – the unboxing! The theme for May 2018’s FairyLoot box was “Save the Kingdom”! So if you love a good fantasy read featuring badass protagonist and high stakes, then you are going to love this box – and even if you don’t, there’s no doubt in my mind you would love it anyways! There’s a TON of fantastic items, including a very highly anticipated new release that is getting fantastic reviews – and of course its filled with magic, drakes, romance, action, and intrigue!

(WARNING: SPOILERS FOR BOX CONTENTS PAST THIS POINT)

IMG_3876

Continue reading “May 2018 FairyLoot Unboxing”