Fire and Heist (ARC) by Sarah Beth Durst

Released in North America on December 4, 2018, Fire and Heist by Sarah Beth Durst introduces fans of the genre to a whole new world where humans and magic mingle. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Julie Kagawa will undoubtedly devour this contemporary fantasy about a teen were-dragon who must steal her first treasure – though this tale may not be fore everyone.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Indigo Books & Music Inc. for providing me with an Advance Review Copy of Fire and Heist by Sarah Beth Durst in exchange for an honest review. 

In Sky Hawkins’s family, leading your first heist is a major milestone–even more so than learning to talk, walk, or do long division. It’s a chance to gain power and acceptance within your family, and within society. But stealing your first treasure can be complicated, especially when you’re a wyvern–a human capable of turning into a dragon. Embarking on a life of crime is never easy, and Sky discovers secrets about her mother, who recently went missing, the real reason her boyfriend broke up with her, and a valuable jewel that could restore her family’s wealth and rank in their community. With a handpicked crew by her side, Sky knows she has everything she needs to complete her first heist, and get her boyfriend and mother back in the process. But then she uncovers a dark truth about were-dragon society–a truth more valuable and dangerous than gold or jewels could ever be.

Image result for fire & heist

Continue reading “Fire and Heist (ARC) by Sarah Beth Durst”

December 2018 FairyLoot Unboxing

FairyLoot is a monthly book subscription box that specializes in Young Adult Fantasy books, based out of London, England. Some of the recent FairyLoot boxes I have received and unboxed include “Talk Faerie to Me” (January 2018), and “Save the Kingdom” (May 2018) and “Rebels in Ballgowns” (June 2018) Every month they have a different theme and select an exciting newly released fantasy novel, in addition to 4-6 hand selected goodies – like book inspired teas, candles, bookmarks, tote bags, and more!

So, how can you get a FairyLoot box of your own (because once you see the awesome books and all the awesome loot in them, I know you’ll want one too)? For more information, check out FairyLoot’s website! They’re also currently hosting a Rep Search on Instagram, so be sure to check that out as well!

So now, on to the exciting part – the unboxing! The theme for December 2018’s FairyLoot box was “Dragons”! This box is perfect for readers that love dragons and all things dragon-themed. The box promised to satisfy fans of Harry Potter (JK Rowling), Game of Thrones (George RR Martin), and Throne of Glass (Sarah J Maas), while still including plenty of other dragon goodies.

(WARNING: SPOILERS FOR BOX CONTENTS PAST THIS POINT)

IMG_3876

Continue reading “December 2018 FairyLoot Unboxing”

Christmas Book Haul 2018

Everyone in my family (and all of my friends) knows that I love to read, and so finding a couple books under the Christmas tree is a pretty sure thing! I am so excited to dive into these books (in fact, I’ve already read Sea Witch by Sarah Henning and I quite enjoyed it)!

IMG_8895

Below, you’ll find a breakdown of the books I received from friends and family as gifts, including links to their listings on Indigo!

  1. Ever the Brave by Erin Summerhill (Release Date: December 5, 2017)
  2. Educated by Tara Westover (Release Date: February 20, 2018)
  3. Sea Witch by Sarah Henning (Release Date: July 31, 2018)
  4. Mirage by Somaiya Daud (Release Date: August 28, 2018)
  5. The Devil’s Thief by Lisa Maxwell (Release Date: October 5, 2018)
  6. Skyward by Brandon Sanderson (Release Date: November 6, 2018)
  7. Fire & Heist by Sara Beth Durst (Release Date: December 4, 2018)
  8. The Storm Crow (ARC) by Kalyn Josephson (Release Date: July 9, 2019)