Isle of Blood and Stone (ARC) by Makiia Lucier

In Isle of Blood and Stone, Makiia Lucier explores the repercussions of a story eighteen years in the making, that began when two princes vanished. Now, eighteen years later, a riddle hidden on a recently uncovered mysterious map could chart a course towards the truth and the missing royals. Set to be released in North America on April 10, 2018, this historical fantasy that’s perfect for fans of Rachel Hartman and Tamora Pierce!

(I would like to thank Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Reader’s Copy of Isle of Blood and Stone by Makiia Lucier in exchange for an honest review). 

Eighteen years ago two princes of the island kingdom of St. John del Mar were kidnapped and murdered, a deadly plot by the rival kingdom of Mondrago. Everyone knows the story, but for Elias, Mercedes, and Ulises, the aftermath of that tragic day is deeply personal. Elias grew up without his father, who was killed trying to protect the princes. Mercedes is half-Mondragan, leaving her to grow up in the shadow of del Mar’s hate. And Ulises, as the youngest and only remaining prince, inherited the throne meant for his older brothers. Now, the three friends just want to move on with their lives. But when two maps surface—each with the same hidden riddle—troubling questions arise. What really happened to the young princes? And why do the maps look like they were drawn by Elias’s father, whose body was never found?  To discover what really happened that fateful day, Elias, Mercedes, and Ulises must follow the clues hidden in the maps, uncovering long-held secrets and unimaginable betrayals along the way. But the truth is dangerous, and not everyone wants it to come out. 

Image result for isle of blood and stone

Continue reading “Isle of Blood and Stone (ARC) by Makiia Lucier”

February 2018 Reading List

I am very excited for February 2018 – some of my most anticipated books for the early part of the year are coming out this month, including Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce (February 6, 2018) and Sightwitch by Susan Dennard (February 13, 2018)! It may be a busy month, but I know I’ll find time to read, because between these new releases and the books still remaining on my TBR, I’ve got tons of good content to get reading!

That being said, for February I’ve put together a list that combines the books I already own with a few upcoming releases that I am excited to add to my TBR pile!

  1. If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo (Release Date: May 3, 2016)
  2. The Last Star Burning by Cailtin Sangster (Release Date: October 10, 2017)
  3. The Cruel Prince by Holly Black (Release Date: January 2, 2018)
  4. Iron Gold by Pierce Brown (Release Date: January 16, 2018)
  5. Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce (Release Date: February 6, 2018)
  6. Tarnished City by Vic James (Release Date: February 6, 2018)
  7. Sightwitch by Susan Dennard (Release Date: February 13, 2018)
  8. Blood of a Thousand Stars by Rhoda Belleza (Release Date: February 20, 2018)
  9. Heart of Iron by Ashley Poston (Release Date: February 27, 2018)
  10. Furyborn (ARC) by Claire Legrand (Release Date: May 22, 2018)

What will you be reading this month? Let me know in the comments – I am always looking for more books to add to me TBR (even if I shouldn’t be!).