June 2018 Reading List

Hi Bookworms!

After a very busy April and May, I am happy to report that I am now officially done university (next up: Convocation!), and I am now working. While this means that I am still relatively busy, I am hoping to find myself with a bit more time for reading, reviewing and photography, among other things.

I even managed to get a decent amount of reading done in May – I finished several books, including Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian, Stormcaster by Cinda Williams Chima, War Storm by Victoria Aveyard, A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J Maas, The Girl You Thought I Was by Rebecca Phillips, and The Bird and the Blade by Megan Bannen! I am hoping to have reviews available for all of those I haven’t yet reviewed in the next couple weeks, so stay tuned!

IMG_7286.JPG

After all that reading, my To Be Read basket is feeling a little empty! So (of course), I have once again put together what is undoubtedly an overly optimistic reading list for June 2018. This lists includes some books from previous months I simply haven’t had a chance t read yet, in addition to some exciting new releases!

MY JUNE 2018 READING LIST IS:

  1. Iron Gold by Pierce Brown (Release Date: January 16, 2018)
  2. Onyx and Ivory by Mindee Arnett (Release Date: May 15, 2018)
  3. Legendary by Stephanie Garber (Release Date: May 29, 2018)
  4. LIFEL1K3 by Jay Kristoff (Release Date: May 29, 2018)

  5. Smoke in the Sun by Renee Ahdieh (Release Date: June 5, 2018)
  6. Whisper of the Tide by Sarah Tolscer (Release Date: June 5, 2018)
  7. City of Bastards by Andrew Shvartz (Release Date: June 5, 2018)
  8. Eden Conquered by Joelle Charbonneau (Release Date: June 5, 2018)
  9. Rage by Cora Carmack (Release Date: June 11, 2018)
  10. A Reaper at the Gates by Sabaa Tahir (Release Date: June 12, 2018)

*Please note that the above listed release dates reflect Canadian/North American Book Releases, and may not be accurate for international locations. 

City of Bastards (ARC) by Andrew Shvartz

Set to release on June 5, 2018, City of Bastards by Andrew Shvartz is the sequel to last year’s buzz-worthy debut novel, Royal BastardsCity of Bastards picks up shortly after the conclusion of Royal Bastards, once again following the actions of the illegitimate children from various nations as they navigate an increasing complex and dangerous political climate. Fans of Cassandra Clare, Sarah J. Maas, and Victoria Aveyard, as well as the hugely popular Game of Thrones, will love this adventure, and this fantasy world, which is so accessible and fun that it’s sure to appeal to readers aren’t avowed fantasy-lovers right alongside the buffs.

(NOTE: I received an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review)

Tilla, bastard of House Kent, has it made. Safe from her murderous father in the dazzling capital of Lightspire, she lives a life of luxury under the protection of the Volaris King, alongside her boyfriend, Zell, and best friend, Princess Lyriana. So why isn’t she happy? Maybe it’s the whispers and stares that follow her wherever she goes, as the daughter of the traitor waging war against Lightspire. Or maybe it’s the memories of her beloved brother, Jax, who lies cold in his grave even as she tries to settle into a life in the city’s prestigious University. Then Tilla stumbles upon the body of a classmate-a friend. The authorities are quick to rule it a suicide and sweep it under the rug, but when Tilla herself is attacked by a mysterious man with terrifying powers, she’s convinced of a conspiracy. Her friends beg her to stay silent; what she’s suggesting is impossible . . . and treasonous. But Tilla can’t-won’t-let it go. And the deeper she digs, the more questions she uncovers. How is the West beating the supposedly invincible Lightspire mages in battle? Is it connected to the shadowy cult wreaking havoc in Lightspire? Nothing is as it seems in the glorious capital, and Tilla’s presence might just be the spark that sets the Kingdom aflame.
Image result for city of bastards

Continue reading “City of Bastards (ARC) by Andrew Shvartz”