Runebinder by Alex R Kahler

Runebinder by Alex R Kahler was released in North America on November 14, 2017, and it promised to be a “Dark, fascinating, and intense–Kahler has created a new hero and world you’ll want to lose yourself in.” Set is a post-apocalyptic world riddled with magic, monsters, and mysterious cults, Runebinder is certainly full of promise – the question is, will it deliver?

When magic returned to the world, it could have saved humanity, but greed and thirst for power caused mankind’s downfall instead. Now once-human monsters called Howls prowl abandoned streets, their hunger guided by corrupt necromancers and the all-powerful Kin. Only Hunters have the power to fight back in the unending war, using the same magic that ended civilization in the first place. But they are losing. Tenn is a Hunter, resigned to fight even though hope is nearly lost. When he is singled out by a seductive Kin named Tomás and the enigmatic Hunter Jarrett, Tenn realizes he’s become a pawn in a bigger game. One that could turn the tides of war. But if his mutinous magic and wayward heart get in the way, his power might not be used in favor of mankind. If Tenn fails to play his part, it could cost him his friends, his life…and the entire world.

Image result for runebinder alex r. kahler

Continue reading “Runebinder by Alex R Kahler”

My Year in Books 2017

It’s the time of year for lists and reflection, and I would be amiss if I didn’t reflect upon what I read this year, and if I didn’t share my favourite reads of 2017! I read a lot this year – about 80 books (because I am sure I missed recording a few on Goodreads here and there!), which amounted to a whopping 32,601 pages. And that’s not even counting all the reading I did for school (which, by the way, is something I would prefer to not reflect upon).

Anyways, Goodreads put together this super neat feature called “My Year in Books”, and I thought it would be awesome to combine some of the things I learned from it with my yearly Top 10 Books post! I have attached photos of “My Year in Books” below my Top 10 of 2017 post for this of you who are interested in viewing it – including a fabulous collage of all the books I read this year!

My Top 10 Books for 2017 are:

  1. A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas (May 2, 2017)
  2. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (February 28, 2017)
  3. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor (March 28, 2017)
  4. A Conjuring of Light by VE Schwab (February 21, 2017)
  5. Tower of Dawn by Sarah J Maas (September 5, 2017)
  6. Windwitch by Susan Dennard (January 10, 2017)
  7. Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff (September 5, 2017)
  8. The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli (October 3, 2017)
  9. Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton (March 14, 2017)
  10. Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller (August 29, 2017)

*Please note that this list only includes books that were published on or after January 1, 2017 in Canada that I have personally read. Therefore, some books you regarded as being one of your favourite books of 2017 may be omitted from this list. If this is the case, please refrain from negativity – instead, I ask you to comment and share the omitted book with me so I have to opportunity to read it myself! Thank-you!  

Continue reading “My Year in Books 2017”

Christmas 2017 Book Haul

You all know the horror of being asked what you want for Christmas, especially when the only response that easily comes to mind is the one everyone already knows and expects – books. But I honestly just love unwrapping new books on Christmas morning! It means a Holiday Break spent curled up reading a relaxing – something that is very much needed this time of year! Especially when it’s as cold as it has been in Southern Ontario (for those of you who do not live in the region, or who are unaware of our recent cold snap, it was colder in Ontario this past week than it was in Antarctica!).

Before I divulge my exciting list of new books that I am excited to start reading, I must first of course relay how thankful I am to have people – family and friends – in my life who support my love of reading, and who always come through when it comes to providing ample reading material to this broke university student! In addition to the books listed below, I also received multiple gift cards to Chapters/Indigo, which I am hoping to stretch out until June!

  1. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
  2. Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon 
  3. Nyxia by Scott Reintegen
  4. Runebinder by Alex R Kahler
  5. The Last Star Burning by Cailtin Sangster
  6. Turtles All The Way Down by John Green
  7. Into the Bright Unknown by Rae Carson 
  8. One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake
  9. The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell
  10. Shadowblack by Sebastien de Castell 

What books did you get this holiday season? Let me know in the comments – I am always looking for new books to read!

MINI MONDAY: The Bone Witch (ARC) by Rin Chupeco

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco is a captivating start to a new, dark fantasy series for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, set to release on March 7th, 2017. (Disclaimer: I received an Advanced Reader Copy of The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco from SOURCEBOOKS Fire on Net Galley, in exchange for an honest review). 

Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price. When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead,she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training. In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha – one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles and make a powerful choice (Chapters.Indigo.ca).

The Bone Witch.jpg

Continue reading “MINI MONDAY: The Bone Witch (ARC) by Rin Chupeco”

MINI MONDAY: The Leaf Reader by Emily Arsenault

Set to release on June 13th, 2017, The Leaf Reader is Emily Arsenault’s most recent novel. Like a contemporary take on Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle, Emily Asenault’s Marnie Wells comes face-to-face with the occult, discovering she can tell the future by reading tea leaves (Disclaimer: I received an e-review copy of The Leaf Reader from Soho Teen via Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review).

Marnie Wells knows that she creeps people out. It’s not really her fault; her brother is always in trouble, and her grandmother, who’s been their guardian since Mom took off is… eccentric. So no one even bats an eye when Marnie finds an old tea-leaf-reading book and starts telling fortunes. The ceremony and symbols are weirdly soothing, but she knows—and hopes everyone else does too—that none of it’s real. Then basketball star Matt Cotrell asks for a reading. He’s been getting emails from someone claiming to be his best friend, Andrea Quinley, who disappeared and is presumed dead. Rumor has it Matt and Andrea were romantically involved, though they’d always denied it. A faint cloud of suspicion still hangs over Matt. But Marnie sees a kindred spirit: someone who, like her, is damaged by association. Suddenly the readings seem real. And they’re telling Marnie things about Matt that make him seem increasingly dangerous. But she can’t shake her initial attraction to him. In fact, it’s getting stronger. And that could turn out to be deadly.

the-leaf-reader

Continue reading “MINI MONDAY: The Leaf Reader by Emily Arsenault”