Ash Princess by Laura Sebastien

When Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian was released in North America on April 24, 2018 it became an instant New York Times Bestseller – and with good reason! Ash Princess is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir, that delivers on all aspects!

Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Fire Queen, was murdered before her eyes. On that day, the Kaiser took Theodosia’s family, her land, and her name. Theo was crowned Ash Princess–a title of shame to bear in her new life as a prisoner. For ten years Theo has been a captive in her own palace. She’s endured the relentless abuse and ridicule of the Kaiser and his court. She is powerless, surviving in her new world only by burying the girl she was deep inside. Then, one night, the Kaiser forces her to do the unthinkable. With blood on her hands and all hope of reclaiming her throne lost, she realizes that surviving is no longer enough. But she does have a weapon: her mind is sharper than any sword. And power isn’t always won on the battlefield. For ten years, the Ash Princess has seen her land pillaged and her people enslaved. That all ends here.

Image result for ash princess by laura sebastian

Continue reading “Ash Princess by Laura Sebastien”

To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo

Released in North America on March 6, 2018, To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo is an action-packed debut that will leave readers reeling – and in search of more swash-buckling pirates and deadly sirens to read about!

Princess Lira is siren royalty and the most lethal of them all. With the hearts of seventeen princes in her collection, she is revered across the sea. Until a twist of fate forces her to kill one of her own. To punish her daughter, the Sea Queen transforms Lira into the one thing they loathe most—a human. Robbed of her song, Lira has until the winter solstice to deliver Prince Elian’s heart to the Sea Queen or remain a human forever. The ocean is the only place Prince Elian calls home, even though he is heir to the most powerful kingdom in the world. Hunting sirens is more than an unsavory hobby—it’s his calling. When he rescues a drowning woman in the ocean, she’s more than what she appears. She promises to help him find the key to destroying all of sirenkind for good—But can he trust her? And just how many deals will Elian have to barter to eliminate mankind’s greatest enemy?

Image result for to kill a kingdom

Continue reading “To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo”

Isle of Blood and Stone (ARC) by Makiia Lucier

In Isle of Blood and Stone, Makiia Lucier explores the repercussions of a story eighteen years in the making, that began when two princes vanished. Now, eighteen years later, a riddle hidden on a recently uncovered mysterious map could chart a course towards the truth and the missing royals. Set to be released in North America on April 10, 2018, this historical fantasy that’s perfect for fans of Rachel Hartman and Tamora Pierce!

(I would like to thank Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Reader’s Copy of Isle of Blood and Stone by Makiia Lucier in exchange for an honest review). 

Eighteen years ago two princes of the island kingdom of St. John del Mar were kidnapped and murdered, a deadly plot by the rival kingdom of Mondrago. Everyone knows the story, but for Elias, Mercedes, and Ulises, the aftermath of that tragic day is deeply personal. Elias grew up without his father, who was killed trying to protect the princes. Mercedes is half-Mondragan, leaving her to grow up in the shadow of del Mar’s hate. And Ulises, as the youngest and only remaining prince, inherited the throne meant for his older brothers. Now, the three friends just want to move on with their lives. But when two maps surface—each with the same hidden riddle—troubling questions arise. What really happened to the young princes? And why do the maps look like they were drawn by Elias’s father, whose body was never found?  To discover what really happened that fateful day, Elias, Mercedes, and Ulises must follow the clues hidden in the maps, uncovering long-held secrets and unimaginable betrayals along the way. But the truth is dangerous, and not everyone wants it to come out. 

Image result for isle of blood and stone

Continue reading “Isle of Blood and Stone (ARC) by Makiia Lucier”

April 2018 TBR List

I am going to try and keep this month’s list short (even as I type this I know it will undoubtedly get out of control once I start adding books to this list – but it’s the thought that counts, right?). April is without a doubt going to be a crazy busy month for me – I will be entering my final practicum as a pre-service teacher! Crazy, right? But practicum means a busy schedule of teaching, volunteering, and lesson planning, and in my previous experience, this really does cut into my reading time.

That being said, let’s take a moment to acknowledge that my reading time is important – because “Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body” (Joseph Addison and Sir Richard Steele). Research has shown that curling up with a good book is not only enjoyable, it can positively impact your mental and emotional health. Reading books, particularly fiction, fully engages the mind and imagination – and transports the reader to a world away, resulting in lower stress levels. And that, in truth, has always been my experience when it comes to reading for pleasure. So while I may be busy with finishing up my final term of post-secondary, I know I’ll find a way to sneak in some reading time!

 

So what’s on this month’s list? Once again, this month’s list is a collection of books being released in April 2018, some upcoming releases I’ve been lucky enough to receive an Advanced Reader Copy of, and previously released books that I hope to find the time to (finally) read this month!

  1. Iron Gold by Pierce Brown (Release Date: January 16, 2018)
  2. To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo (Release Date: March 6, 2018)
  3. Dread Nation by Justina Ireland (Release Date: April 2, 2018)
  4. Stormcaster by Cinda Williams Chima (Release Date: April 3, 2018)
  5. Isle of Blood and Stone by Makiia Lucier (Release Date: April 10, 2018)
  6. Ace of Shades by Amanda Foody (Release Date: April 10, 2018)
  7. Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young (Release Date: April 24, 2018)
  8. Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian (Release Date: April 24, 2018)
  9. From the Earth to the Shadows (ARC) by Amanda Hocking (Release Date: April 24, 2018)
  10. Song of Blood & Stone (ARC) by L. Penelope (Release Date: May 2, 2018)

 

This month I am undoubtedly most excited for Ace of Shades by Amanda Foody (Release Date: April 10, 2018) and Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young (Release Date: April 24, 2018) – I’ve included a synopsis of the two books below!

Continue reading “April 2018 TBR List”

Sky in the Deep (ARC) by Adrienne Young

Described as “fierce, vivid, and violently beautiful” Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young has undoubtedly earned its place as a 2018 Most Anticipated Young Adult book. Set to release in North America on April 24, 2018, Sky in the Deep is a lush, Viking-age inspired fantasy about loyalty, forgiveness, and the definition of family that identifies Adrienne Young is a fantastic storyteller.

(I would like to thank Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Reader’s Copy of Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young in exchange for an honest review). 

Raised to be a warrior, seventeen-year-old Eelyn fights alongside her Aska clansmen in an ancient, rivalry against the Riki clan. Her life is brutal but simple: fight and survive. Until the day she sees the impossible on the battlefield-her brother, fighting with the enemy-the brother she watched die five years ago. Faced with her brother’s betrayal, she must survive the winter in the mountains with the Riki, in a village where every neighbor is an enemy, every battle scar possibly one she delivered. But when the Riki village is raided by a ruthless clan thought to be a legend, Eelyn is even more desperate to get back to her beloved family. She is given no choice but to trust Fiske, her brother’s friend, who sees her as a threat. They must do the impossible: unite the clans to fight together, or risk being slaughtered one by one. Driven by a love for her clan and her growing love for Fiske, Eelyn must confront her own definition of loyalty and family while daring to put her faith in the people she’s spent her life hating.

Image result for sky in the deep

Continue reading “Sky in the Deep (ARC) by Adrienne Young”