A Curse So Dark And Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

Released in North America on January 29, 2019, A Curse So Dark And Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer has everything you’d want in a retelling of a classic fairy tale. A Curse So Dark And Lonely is a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sarah J Maas.

Not only that, but A Curse So Dark And Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer is also the Indigo Teen Staff Pick of the Month for January 2020!

DISCLAIMER: I received a complimentary copy of Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review. 

Fall in love, break the curse. It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope. Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world. Break the curse, save the kingdom. A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

Image result for a curse so dark and lonely goodreads

Continue reading “A Curse So Dark And Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer”

The Stars We Steal (ARC) by Alexa Donne

Set to release in North America on February 4th, 2020, The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a gripping Science Fiction story about a young girl caught in a world of royal intrigue and lost love in her quest to save her family from ruin. Fans of Katharine McGee and Kiera Cass will be dazzled by this epic space romance that is sure to appeal to all ages of YA readers.

Engagement season is in the air. Nineteen-year-old Princess Leonie Leo” Kolburg, heir to a faded European spaceship, has only one thing on her mind: which lucky bachelor can save her family from financial ruin? But when Leo’s childhood friend and first love, Elliot, returns as the captain of a successful whiskey ship, everything changes. Elliot was the one who got away, the boy Leo’s family deemed to be unsuitable for marriage. Now he’s the biggest catch of the season and he seems determined to make Leo’s life miserable. But old habits die hard, and as Leo navigates the glittering balls of the Valg Season, she finds herself falling for her first love in a game of love, lies, and past regrets.

Image result for the stars we steal alexa donne

Continue reading “The Stars We Steal (ARC) by Alexa Donne”

Children of Virtue and Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi

Released on December 3, 2019, Children of Virtue and Vengeance is the second installment in Tomi Adeyemi’s thrilling Legacy of Orïsha series. In what promises to be a stunning sequel, Zélie must save Orïsha from a devastating civil war, while also hoping not to lose herself in the process.

After battling the impossible, Zélie and Amari have finally succeeded in bringing magic back to the land of Orïsha. But the ritual was more powerful than they could’ve imagined, reigniting the powers of not only the maji, but of nobles with magic ancestry, too. Now, Zélie struggles to unite the maji in an Orïsha where the enemy is just as powerful as they are. But when the monarchy and military unite to keep control of Orïsha, Zélie must fight to secure Amari’s right to the throne and protect the new maji from the monarchy’s wrath. With civil war looming on the horizon, Zélie finds herself at a breaking point: she must discover a way to bring the kingdom together or watch as Orïsha tears itself apart.

Image result for children of virtue and vengeance

Continue reading “Children of Virtue and Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi”

The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh is the first in a sumptuous, sultry and romantic new series set in 19th century New Orleans where vampires hide in plain sight. Released on October 8, 2019, The Beautiful became an instant New York Times and Indie Bestseller – a testament to master storyteller Renée Ahdieh’s newest sultry romance and decadent, thrilling mystery, which is sure to enrapture fans of the genre, new and old.

In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans is a safe haven after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent in the middle of the carnival season, Celine is quickly enraptured by the vibrant city, from its music to its fancy soirées and even its danger. She becomes embroiled in the city’s glitzy underworld, known as La Cour des Lions, after catching the eye of the group’s enigmatic leader, Sébastien Saint Germain. When the body of one of the girls from the convent is found in Sébastien’s own lair – the second dead girl to turn up in recent weeks – Celine battles her attraction to Sébastien and suspicions about his guilt, along with the shame of her own horrible secret. After a third murder, New Orleans becomes gripped by the terror of a serial killer on the loose – one who has now set Celine in his sights. As the murderer stalks her, Celine finally takes matters into her own hands, only to find herself caught in the midst of an age-old feud between the darkest creatures of the night, where the price of forbidden love is her life.

Image result for the beautiful renee ahdieh

Continue reading “The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh”

Most Anticipated Novels of 2020

With the New Year – and the New Decade – having finally arrived, it is time to turn my attention to the year ahead. And by that, I obviously mean which books I plan on reading this year. As usual, this list is predominantly YA Fantasy and/or Science Fiction, but since I am attempting to branch out (and as some of my favourite authors migrate to the Adult demographic), some other books have made it onto this list! That being said – this list is by no means inclusive, as it lists the novels I am most excited to read this year, not those which are (overall) most anticipated by the reading community at large.

*Please note that the following dates are based upon information provided by Indigo Books & Music Inc, and/or Goodreads, and that the below dates reflect the expected release date of a given book in Canada, as it is listed on January 1, 2020. Release dates are subject to change. 

IMG_0216

Continue reading “Most Anticipated Novels of 2020”

Indigo Teen Staff Picks of the Month 2019

If this happens to be the first time you are hearing about the Indigo Teen Staff Pick of the Month for the first time, you may be curious as to just what it is – as you should be! In short, Indigo Staff Picks of the Month is an initiative run by Chapters/Indigo Books & Music Inc., with the goal of featuring new and exciting book releases for various demographics and/or genres. The Indigo Teen Staff Pick of the Month focuses specifically on the Teen/Young Adult demographic, with books from various genres, including Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Contemporary.

Each month, 100 staff members read a number of teen and YA books, and then vote for their pick of the month! Each monthly pick is announced by Chapters/Indigo at the beginning of each month, and each of the picks are kept secret until then!

If you’re shopping in store, you can easily identify current, and past, Indigo Staff Picks of the Month by spotting the black, circular sticker on their cover (see below). If you’re shopping online, you can check out current and past Indigo Staff Picks of the Month here. If you happen to pick up your own copy of an Indigo Staff Picks of the Month book, please be sure to show it off on social media by using the hashtag #IndigoStaffPicks!

Continue reading “Indigo Teen Staff Picks of the Month 2019”

My Year in Books 2019

It’s the time of year for lists and reflection, and I would be amiss if I didn’t reflect upon what I read this year, and if I didn’t share my favourite reads of 2019! Everything considered, I still managed to read quite a lot this year – 78 books to be exact (or around there, because I am sure I missed recording a few on Goodreads here and there!), which amounted to a whopping 29,736 pages read! While this isn’t quite as much as My Year in Books 2018, I am still really happy to have not only met my goal (to read 50 books), but to have surpassed it as well!

YIB1

Anyways, Goodreads put together this super neat feature called “My Year in Books”, and I thought it would be awesome to combine some of the things I learned from it with my yearly Top 10 Books post! I have attached photos of “My Year in Books” below my Top 10 of 2019 post for this of you who are interested in viewing it – including a fabulous collage of all the books I read this year!

Continue reading “My Year in Books 2019”

Christmas Wish List 2019

Well Bookworms – it’s official, I am bringing my longer-than-expected hiatus to an end (with this post)! It feels like it has been months since I have sat dawn with my laptop to write a post about anything books related – and since it actually has been months, please forgive me if this post isn’t quite up to my usual standard.

Regardless, I am excited to be back and to be sharing my 2019 Christmas Wish List with any of you who have decided to hang around long enough to see my triumphant return to blogging. Books are one of my favourite gifts to give, and to receive. I especially enjoy gifting books I have read to friends and family, so that we can share and discuss them once they have been read! And since my father and I have a similar taste in books (see: anything high-fantasy), this usually works out! My boyfriend is more into Sci-Fi, so I’ve managed to wrangle him into reading some of my YA Sci-Fi favourites, like The Illumiae Files (Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman) or Skyward (Brandon Sanderson).

Anyways, back to my Christmas Wish List! As it is most years, this list is a jumble of recent releases, and older releases (typically from earlier in 2019), that I simply haven’t had a chance to get my hands on. As usual, most of the books on the below list are YA Fantasy, with a dash of Sci-Fi mixed in!

IMG_0215

Continue reading “Christmas Wish List 2019”

October 2019 Reading List

September was a crazy month for me – if you happen to follow me on Bookstagram, you may have seen that I accepted a new teaching role, and not only did I move into a new grade, but I also increased my work load to full-time! While this is thrilling and exciting (truly – it’s as if all my dreams are coming true!), it does mean that I have accrued quite the to be read pile!

So, as I settle into my new teaching role and my new routine, I am going to focusing on reading the books that are already on my shelves! These books are mostly ARCs that I received at the Indigo YA Fall Preview, though a couple are recent releases that I picked up in the past few weeks.

IMG_0217

Continue reading “October 2019 Reading List”