The Shadows Between Us (ARC) by Tricia Levenseller

Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is back with an epic YA tale of ambition and love in The Shadows Between Us, set to be released in North America on February 25, 2020.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller, in exchange for an honest review.

Alessandra is tired of being overlooked, but she has a plan to gain power: woo the Shadow King, marry him, kill him and take his kingdom for herself. No one knows the extent of the freshly crowned Shadow King’s power. Some say he can command the shadows that swirl around him to do his bidding. Others say they speak to him, whispering the thoughts of his enemies. Regardless, Alessandra knows what she deserves, and she’s going to do everything within her power to get it. But Alessandra’s not the only one trying to kill the king. As attempts on his life are made, she finds herself trying to keep him alive long enough for him to make her his queen-all while struggling not to lose her heart. After all, who better for a Shadow King than a cunning, villainous queen?

Image result for the shadows between us"

Continue reading “The Shadows Between Us (ARC) by Tricia Levenseller”

Storm from the East (ARC) by Joanna Hathaway

Set to release in North America on February 11, 2020, Storm from the East is the second installment in Joanna Hathaway’s epic Glass Alliance series, following on the heels of Dark of the West. And it certainly lives up to its description of being “part war drama, part romance” – though it will be up to readers to decide whether that mix is for better, or for worse.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of Storm from the East by Joanna Hathaway, in exchange for an honest review.

War has begun, and the days of Athan’s and Aurelia’s secret, summer romance feel a world away. Led by Athan’s father, the revolutionary Safire have launched a secret assault upon the last royal kingdom in the South, hoping to depose the king and seize a powerful foothold on the continent. Athan proves a star pilot among their ranks, struggling to justify the violence his family has unleashed as he fights his way to the capital – where, unbeknownst to him, Aurelia has lived since the war’s onset. Determined to save the kingdom Athan has been ordered to destroy, she partners with a local journalist to inflame anti-Safire sentiment, all while learning this conflict might be far darker and more complex than she ever imagined. When the two reunite at last, Athan longing to shake the nightmare of combat and Aurelia reeling from the discovery of a long-buried family truth come to light, they’ll find the shadow of war stretches well beyond the battlefield. Each of them longs to rekindle the love they once shared… but each has a secret they’re desperate to hide.

Image result for storm from the east"

Continue reading “Storm from the East (ARC) by Joanna Hathaway”

February 2020 Reading List

Well, as January comes to an end (finally, might I add?), I find myself looking towards February – and debating what, exactly, I plan on reading throughout the upcoming month. And while I had a relatively successful month of reading in January (I read 6 books – yay!), there are still quite a few unread books staring at me accusingly from my To Be Read Box – making me feel even more guilty about my pre-orders that are already enroute!

So, as always, you’ll find that this list is a little bit of a mix of everything – older releases hoping to escape my To Be Read Box, new releases I can’t wait to pick up, and even a couple ARC’s I’m excited to crack open. Oh, and also? I still haven’t read Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon, but… one day, right?

IMG_0660

Continue reading “February 2020 Reading List”

The Stars We Steal (ARC) by Alexa Donne

Set to release in North America on February 4th, 2020, The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a gripping Science Fiction story about a young girl caught in a world of royal intrigue and lost love in her quest to save her family from ruin. Fans of Katharine McGee and Kiera Cass will be dazzled by this epic space romance that is sure to appeal to all ages of YA readers.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne, in exchange for an honest review.

Engagement season is in the air. Nineteen-year-old Princess Leonie Leo” Kolburg, heir to a faded European spaceship, has only one thing on her mind: which lucky bachelor can save her family from financial ruin? But when Leo’s childhood friend and first love, Elliot, returns as the captain of a successful whiskey ship, everything changes. Elliot was the one who got away, the boy Leo’s family deemed to be unsuitable for marriage. Now he’s the biggest catch of the season and he seems determined to make Leo’s life miserable. But old habits die hard, and as Leo navigates the glittering balls of the Valg Season, she finds herself falling for her first love in a game of love, lies, and past regrets.

Image result for the stars we steal alexa donne

Continue reading “The Stars We Steal (ARC) by Alexa Donne”

Children of Virtue and Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi

Released on December 3, 2019, Children of Virtue and Vengeance is the second installment in Tomi Adeyemi’s thrilling Legacy of Orïsha series. In what promises to be a stunning sequel, Zélie must save Orïsha from a devastating civil war, while also hoping not to lose herself in the process.

After battling the impossible, Zélie and Amari have finally succeeded in bringing magic back to the land of Orïsha. But the ritual was more powerful than they could’ve imagined, reigniting the powers of not only the maji, but of nobles with magic ancestry, too. Now, Zélie struggles to unite the maji in an Orïsha where the enemy is just as powerful as they are. But when the monarchy and military unite to keep control of Orïsha, Zélie must fight to secure Amari’s right to the throne and protect the new maji from the monarchy’s wrath. With civil war looming on the horizon, Zélie finds herself at a breaking point: she must discover a way to bring the kingdom together or watch as Orïsha tears itself apart.

Image result for children of virtue and vengeance

Continue reading “Children of Virtue and Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi”

The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh is the first in a sumptuous, sultry and romantic new series set in 19th century New Orleans where vampires hide in plain sight. Released on October 8, 2019, The Beautiful became an instant New York Times and Indie Bestseller – a testament to master storyteller Renée Ahdieh’s newest sultry romance and decadent, thrilling mystery, which is sure to enrapture fans of the genre, new and old.

In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans is a safe haven after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent in the middle of the carnival season, Celine is quickly enraptured by the vibrant city, from its music to its fancy soirées and even its danger. She becomes embroiled in the city’s glitzy underworld, known as La Cour des Lions, after catching the eye of the group’s enigmatic leader, Sébastien Saint Germain. When the body of one of the girls from the convent is found in Sébastien’s own lair – the second dead girl to turn up in recent weeks – Celine battles her attraction to Sébastien and suspicions about his guilt, along with the shame of her own horrible secret. After a third murder, New Orleans becomes gripped by the terror of a serial killer on the loose – one who has now set Celine in his sights. As the murderer stalks her, Celine finally takes matters into her own hands, only to find herself caught in the midst of an age-old feud between the darkest creatures of the night, where the price of forbidden love is her life.

Image result for the beautiful renee ahdieh

Continue reading “The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh”

January 2020 Reading List

This list (hopefully) brings an end to four consecutive days of posting lists of books. Seriously, if you need some ideas for books to read, check out my latest posts! For my part, I am certainly glad to be moving on, and returning to blogging about other bookish related things – such as reviews and the like – for the time being.

Regardless, I am excited to be sharing my reading list for January 2020, which features a whole host of books I simply cannot wait to dive into. This January 2020 Reading List is a jumble of a little bit of everything – while I am excited to pick up some new releases, I can’t neglect the unread novels languishing on my shelves completed (seriously, it stresses me out), and I am also trying to be financially responsible by limiting my spending (I believe this is called “adulting”?).

IMG_9638

Continue reading “January 2020 Reading List”

Most Anticipated Novels of 2020

With the New Year – and the New Decade – having finally arrived, it is time to turn my attention to the year ahead. And by that, I obviously mean which books I plan on reading this year. As usual, this list is predominantly YA Fantasy and/or Science Fiction, but since I am attempting to branch out (and as some of my favourite authors migrate to the Adult demographic), some other books have made it onto this list! That being said – this list is by no means inclusive, as it lists the novels I am most excited to read this year, not those which are (overall) most anticipated by the reading community at large.

*Please note that the following dates are based upon information provided by Indigo Books & Music Inc, and/or Goodreads, and that the below dates reflect the expected release date of a given book in Canada, as it is listed on January 1, 2020. Release dates are subject to change. 

IMG_0216

Continue reading “Most Anticipated Novels of 2020”

Christmas Wish List 2019

Well Bookworms – it’s official, I am bringing my longer-than-expected hiatus to an end (with this post)! It feels like it has been months since I have sat dawn with my laptop to write a post about anything books related – and since it actually has been months, please forgive me if this post isn’t quite up to my usual standard.

Regardless, I am excited to be back and to be sharing my 2019 Christmas Wish List with any of you who have decided to hang around long enough to see my triumphant return to blogging. Books are one of my favourite gifts to give, and to receive. I especially enjoy gifting books I have read to friends and family, so that we can share and discuss them once they have been read! And since my father and I have a similar taste in books (see: anything high-fantasy), this usually works out! My boyfriend is more into Sci-Fi, so I’ve managed to wrangle him into reading some of my YA Sci-Fi favourites, like The Illumiae Files (Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman) or Skyward (Brandon Sanderson).

Anyways, back to my Christmas Wish List! As it is most years, this list is a jumble of recent releases, and older releases (typically from earlier in 2019), that I simply haven’t had a chance to get my hands on. As usual, most of the books on the below list are YA Fantasy, with a dash of Sci-Fi mixed in!

IMG_0215

Continue reading “Christmas Wish List 2019”