Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin is a brilliant debut, full of everything readers of the genre love: a sparkling and fully realized heroine, an intricate and deadly system of magic, and a searing romance that will keep readers reading long into the night. Released on September 3rd, 2019, Mahurin’s debut novel is the Indigo Teen Staff Pick of the Month – and also featured in their most recent Indigo Book Box!

DISCLAIMER: I received a complimentary copy of Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin  from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review. 

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned. As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage. Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Image result for serpent & dove

Continue reading “Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin”

HCC #FrenzyPresents Fall Preview (2019-09-25)

A few Sundays ago, I had the privilege – and pleasure – of attending the Harper Collins Canada #FrenzyPresents Fall Preview event in Toronto, Ontario. This is only the second time I have been able to attend, but as with my first event, this HCC #FrenzyPresents event was a blast! Not only did I get an in-depth preview of so many fantastic upcoming YA releases, but I also had the chance to meet several of my fellow Canadian Book Bloggers, which was simply heartwarming. Truly, my heart is so full.

IMG_9957

Continue reading “HCC #FrenzyPresents Fall Preview (2019-09-25)”

September 2019 Reading List

As you may remember, I set myself some quite ambitious reading goals for August – with my online course completed, and a full month stretching out before me, I was feeling quite motivated. Unfortunately, after only a handful of books, I found myself stuck in quite the reading slump, and as a result I only ended up reading a grand total of four books in August. If you’re interested in knowing exactly what I read in August, you can check out my August Reading Wrap-Up.

That being said, I am definitely feeling motivated and ready to tackle another ambitious reading list this month! A short, but fantastic, read has got me out of my reading slump, and I am back to reading almost daily. As always, this list will be a blend of older releases I haven’t yet found the time to read, new releases I am excited to get my hands on, and a few Advanced Review Copies as well!

IMG_9963

Continue reading “September 2019 Reading List”

August 2019 Reading Wrap-Up

Hello Bookworms! As you may remember, I set myself some quite ambitious reading goals for August, because as the month began, I was definitely feeling motivated and ready to tackle another ambitious reading list! Despite this early motivation, I quickly fell into a severe reading slump – in fact, I haven’t actually finished a single book in the past two weeks! I just have not been in much of a reading mood, and no matter which book I pick up, I still find myself unable to follow through with it.

Despite all that, I still managed to read a few books during the month of August! This bring my reading total for the year up to 50/50 books, which means that I have officially completed my reading goal for 2019! My next challenge is to see if I can outdo my 2018 reading, which saw me read 82 books.

IMG_9966

SO WHAT DID I READ IN JULY?

  1. Red Skies Falling (ARC) by Alex London (Release Date: September 3rd, 2019)
  2. There Will Come A Darkness (ARC) by Katy Rose Pool (Release Date: September 3rd, 2019)
  3. The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen (Release Date: July 30th, 2019)
  4. Vow of Thieves by Mary E Pearson (Release Date: August 6th, 2019)

HAVE YOU READ ANY OF THESE BOOKS? LET ME KNOW!

There Will Come A Darkness (ARC) by Katy Rose Pool

There Will Come A Darkness is Katy Rose Pool’s debut novel, which is set to release in North America on September 3rd, 2019. There Will Come A Darkness promises to be showstopping debut YA fantasy perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows meets Kristin Cashore’s Graceling. 

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of The Girl the Sea Gave Back by Adrienne Young, in exchange for an honest review.

The Age of Darkness approaches. Five lives stand in its way. Who will stop it . . . or unleash it? For generations, the Seven Prophets guided humanity. Using their visions of the future, they ended wars and united nations-until the day, one hundred years ago, when the Prophets disappeared. All they left behind was one final, secret prophecy, foretelling an Age of Darkness and the birth of a new Prophet who could be the world’s salvation . . . or the cause of its destruction. With chaos on the horizon, five souls are set on a collision course: A prince exiled from his kingdom. A ruthless killer known as the Pale Hand. A once-faithful leader torn between his duty and his heart.  A reckless gambler with the power to find anything or anyone. And a dying girl on the verge of giving up. One of them-or all of them-could break the world. Will they be savior or destroyer? 

Image result for there will come a darkness

Continue reading “There Will Come A Darkness (ARC) by Katy Rose Pool”

The Girl the Sea Gave Back (ARC) by Adrienne Young

Set to release on September 3rd, 2019, The Girl the Sea Gave Back is Adrienne Young’s second novel, following in the footsteps of Sky in the DeepThe Girl the Sea Gave Back promises to be a moving coming-of-age tale, perfect for those who appreciate the wild and the wildlings, strong female protagonists, and cinematic battles.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of The Girl the Sea Gave Back by Adrienne Young, in exchange for an honest review. 

For as long as she can remember, Tova has lived among the Svell, the people who found her washed ashore as a child and use her for her gift as a Truthtongue. Her own home and clan are long-faded memories, but the sacred symbols and staves inked over every inch of her skin mark her as one who can cast the rune stones and see into the future. She has found a fragile place among those who fear her, but when two clans to the east bury their age-old blood feud and join together as one, her world is dangerously close to collapse. For the first time in generations, the leaders of the Svell are divided. Should they maintain peace or go to war with the allied clans to protect their newfound power? And when their chieftain looks to Tova to cast the stones, she sets into motion a series of events that will not only change the landscape of the mainland forever but will give her something she believed she could never have again—a home.

Image result for the girl the sea gave back

Continue reading “The Girl the Sea Gave Back (ARC) by Adrienne Young”

Midnight Beauties (ARC) by Megan Shepherd

The witches, beasties, goblins, and Royals return in this spellbinding conclusion to New York Times best-selling author Megan Shepherd’s Grim Lovelies duology, released in North America on August 13th, 2019. Wicked and delightful, this spellbinding sequel and conclusion to Grim Lovelies is perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince and The Hazel Wood.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of Midnight Beauties by Megan Shepherd, in exchange for an honest review. 

Ever since she discovered her affinity for magic, seventeen-year-old Anouk has been desperate to become a witch. It’s the only way to save her friends who, like Anouk, are beasties: animals enchanted into humans. But unlike Anouk, the other beasties didn’t make it out of the battle at Montélimar in one piece. With her friends now trapped in their animal forms, Anouk is forced into a sinister deal involving a political marriage with her sworn enemy, a wicked plot to overthrow London’s fiercest coven of witches, and a deadly trial of fire to become a witch. The price for power has always been steep in the world of the Haute. Now, it will cost Anouk everything.

Image result for midnight beauties megan shepherd

Continue reading “Midnight Beauties (ARC) by Megan Shepherd”

Bright Star (ARC) by Erin Swan

Released on August 13, 2019, Bright Star is Erin Swan’s YA fantasy debut, filled to the brim with adventurous tales of rebellion, romance, and finding one’s voice in the heart of a storm.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of Bright Star by Erin Swan, in exchange for an honest review. 

Paerolia has been at peace for two centuries, and all is well in the land-or so it seems. Beneath the surface, a tyrant is rising to power. A traumatic experience in Andra’s childhood has left her mute and subdued, a servant in the Chief Judge’s manor. But when an assassination team, led by the secretive and alluring Kael, infiltrates the manor and makes a quick escape, she takes her chance and flees with them. Andra is thrust into the ranks of a secret rebellion – a group of outcasts and believers seeking to overthrow the Chief Judge and replace the corrupt government with new members, ones who will restore and preserve the land they love. Now, the girl who was once an outcast must somehow become the leader Paerolia needs. But she is stronger than she believes – and with the help of a fiercely loyal dragon, she may just be the one to lead them all to victory.

Image result for bright star erin swan

Continue reading “Bright Star (ARC) by Erin Swan”

The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen

Released in North America on July 30th, 2019, The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen promised to be a powerful debut novel, filled to the brim with vengeance, survival, and sacrifice – perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake.

A future chieftain – Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime. A fugitive prince – When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses – and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns. A too-cunning bodyguard – Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’s life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own? 

Image result for the merciful crow

Continue reading “The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen”