HCC #FrenzyPresents Fall Preview (2019-09-25)

A few Sundays ago, I had the privilege – and pleasure – of attending the Harper Collins Canada #FrenzyPresents Fall Preview event in Toronto, Ontario. This is only the second time I have been able to attend, but as with my first event, this HCC #FrenzyPresents event was a blast! Not only did I get an in-depth preview of so many fantastic upcoming YA releases, but I also had the chance to meet several of my fellow Canadian Book Bloggers, which was simply heartwarming. Truly, my heart is so full.

IMG_9957

Continue reading “HCC #FrenzyPresents Fall Preview (2019-09-25)”

September 2019 Reading List

As you may remember, I set myself some quite ambitious reading goals for August – with my online course completed, and a full month stretching out before me, I was feeling quite motivated. Unfortunately, after only a handful of books, I found myself stuck in quite the reading slump, and as a result I only ended up reading a grand total of four books in August. If you’re interested in knowing exactly what I read in August, you can check out my August Reading Wrap-Up.

That being said, I am definitely feeling motivated and ready to tackle another ambitious reading list this month! A short, but fantastic, read has got me out of my reading slump, and I am back to reading almost daily. As always, this list will be a blend of older releases I haven’t yet found the time to read, new releases I am excited to get my hands on, and a few Advanced Review Copies as well!

IMG_9963

Continue reading “September 2019 Reading List”

August 2019 Reading Wrap-Up

Hello Bookworms! As you may remember, I set myself some quite ambitious reading goals for August, because as the month began, I was definitely feeling motivated and ready to tackle another ambitious reading list! Despite this early motivation, I quickly fell into a severe reading slump – in fact, I haven’t actually finished a single book in the past two weeks! I just have not been in much of a reading mood, and no matter which book I pick up, I still find myself unable to follow through with it.

Despite all that, I still managed to read a few books during the month of August! This bring my reading total for the year up to 50/50 books, which means that I have officially completed my reading goal for 2019! My next challenge is to see if I can outdo my 2018 reading, which saw me read 82 books.

IMG_9966

SO WHAT DID I READ IN JULY?

  1. Red Skies Falling (ARC) by Alex London (Release Date: September 3rd, 2019)
  2. There Will Come A Darkness (ARC) by Katy Rose Pool (Release Date: September 3rd, 2019)
  3. The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen (Release Date: July 30th, 2019)
  4. Vow of Thieves by Mary E Pearson (Release Date: August 6th, 2019)

HAVE YOU READ ANY OF THESE BOOKS? LET ME KNOW!

There Will Come A Darkness (ARC) by Katy Rose Pool

There Will Come A Darkness is Katy Rose Pool’s debut novel, which is set to release in North America on September 3rd, 2019. There Will Come A Darkness promises to be showstopping debut YA fantasy perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows meets Kristin Cashore’s Graceling. 

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of The Girl the Sea Gave Back by Adrienne Young, in exchange for an honest review.

The Age of Darkness approaches. Five lives stand in its way. Who will stop it . . . or unleash it? For generations, the Seven Prophets guided humanity. Using their visions of the future, they ended wars and united nations-until the day, one hundred years ago, when the Prophets disappeared. All they left behind was one final, secret prophecy, foretelling an Age of Darkness and the birth of a new Prophet who could be the world’s salvation . . . or the cause of its destruction. With chaos on the horizon, five souls are set on a collision course: A prince exiled from his kingdom. A ruthless killer known as the Pale Hand. A once-faithful leader torn between his duty and his heart.  A reckless gambler with the power to find anything or anyone. And a dying girl on the verge of giving up. One of them-or all of them-could break the world. Will they be savior or destroyer? 

Image result for there will come a darkness

Continue reading “There Will Come A Darkness (ARC) by Katy Rose Pool”

Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim

If you’ve been itching to get your hands on Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim, now is the perfect time! Released on July 9th, 2019, Spin the Dawn is not only the Indigo Teen Staff Pick of the Month for August, but it is also a stunning read!

DISCLAIMER: I received a complimentary copy of Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review. 

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job. Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise. And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Image result for spin the dawn Continue reading “Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim”

August 2019 Reading List

Hello Bookworms!

As you may remember, I set myself some quite ambitious reading goals for July – despite a large portion of my summer being dedicated to my part-time job, and another large portion to an online course I was taking. Well, I am excited to announce that I found the time to read a whopping EIGHT books during the month of July – and I successfully completed my online course! If you’re interested in knowing exactly what I read in July, you can check out my July Wrap Up.

That being said, I am definitely feeling motivated and ready to tackle another ambitious reading list this month! As always, this list will be a blend of older releases I haven’t yet found the time to read, new releases I am excited to get my hands on, and since it is #ARCAugust, a few Advanced Review Copies as well!

IMG_0318

Continue reading “August 2019 Reading List”

July 2019 Reading List

Happy Summer, Bookworms!

The beginning of July means the beginning of “summer vacation” for myself and countless other teachers – though my summer certainly won’t be all relaxation! Like many of my fellow teachers, a large portion of my summer will be dedicated to my part-time job, and another large portion to an online course I am taking.

Despite all that, I am still setting myself some ambitious reading goals – because I certainly hope my summer won’t be all work! Beyond this ambitious list, I am also hoping to complete some important updates to my blog and to get back into posting daily to my Bookstagram account!

img_0182.jpg

Continue reading “July 2019 Reading List”

BLOG UPDATE: Post #1

Hello Bookworms!

For those of you that follow me on Instagram, I recently shared my plans to update my blog – to give it a more modern, streamlined look. A look that reflects how far I have come since I started this blog just over three years ago.

The first step in this update was a bit of branding, which I have been hard at work on this past week (with some awesome artistic input from Flavia the Bibliophile herself!). I wanted something simple that would reflect my hopes for my blog going forward – not just what my blog is in this moment.

Continue reading “BLOG UPDATE: Post #1”

June 2019 Reading Wrap-Up

Wait… a Reading Wrap Up?

I’ll be honest, I’ve never done one of these before, but the craziness of June (see below) resulted in my planned Reading List never seeing the light of your device screen – so here we are.

Well Bookworms, let me tell you about my June thus far (I’ll keep it short, I promise). As you may (or may not) know, when I am not reading, I am also a teacher (a first year teacher, to be exact). Which means that for the past month (yes, MONTH), all my free time has been consumed with marking, planning, and writing year-end reports for my students. On top of that, I also started a part-time job in the evenings, and was still dredging through the ungodly task of unpacking after moving house.

Despite all this, I have been slowly working my way through my June Reading List, and laying out plans to return to a more regular blogging schedule come July (AKA the end of the school year).

IMG_9925.JPG

Continue reading “June 2019 Reading Wrap-Up”