The Dark Tide (ARC) by Alicia Jasinka

Set to release in North America on June 2, 2020, The Dark Tide is Alicia Jasinka’s debut novel. This gripping, dark fairy-tale fantasy is The Wicked Deep meets A Curse So Dark and Lonely, as worlds collide in a tale about two girls who must choose between saving themselves, each other, or their sinking island city.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of The Dark Tide by Alicia Jasinka, in exchange for an honest review.

Every year on Walpurgis Night, Caldellas Witch Queen lures a boy back to her palace. An innocent life to be sacrificed on the full moon to keep the island city from sinking. Convinced her handsome brother is going to be taken, sixteen-year-old Lina Kirk enlists the help of the mysterious Tomas Lin, her secret crush, and the only boy to ever escape from the palace. Working together, they protect her brother, but draw the Queens attention. When the Queen spirits Tomas away instead, Lina blames herself and determines to go after him. Caught breaking into the palace, the Queen offers Lina a deal: she will let Tomas go if Lina agrees to take his place. Lina accepts with a month before the full moon, surely she can find some way to escape. But the Queen is nothing like she envisioned, and Lina is not at all what the Queen expected. Against their will, they find themselves falling for each other. As water floods Caldellas streets and the dark tide demands its sacrifice, they must choose who to save: themselves, each other, or the island city relying on them both.

Image result for the dark tide alicia jasinska

Continue reading “The Dark Tide (ARC) by Alicia Jasinka”

A Song Below Water (ARC) by Bethany C. Morrow

Set to release in North America on June 2, 2020, A Song Below Water is Bethany C. Morrow’s newest YA Fantasy novel. A Song Below Water promises to be a story for today’s young readers – a captivating modern fantasy about black mermaids, friendship, and self-discovery set against the challenges of today’s racism and sexism.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of A Song Below Water by Bethany C. Morrow, in exchange for an honest review.

Tavia is already at odds with the world, forced to keep her siren identity under wraps in a society that wants to keep her kind under lock and key. Never mind she’s also stuck in Portland, Oregon, a city with only a handful of black folk and even fewer of those with magical powers. At least she has her bestie Effie by her side as they tackle high school drama, family secrets, and unrequited crushes. But everything changes in the aftermath of a siren murder trial that rocks the nation; the girls’ favorite Internet fashion icon reveals she’s also a siren, and the news rips through their community. Tensions escalate when Effie starts being haunted by demons from her past, and Tavia accidentally lets out her magical voice during a police stop. No secret seems safe anymore—soon Portland won’t be either.

Image result for a song below water: a novel bybethany c. morrow

Continue reading “A Song Below Water (ARC) by Bethany C. Morrow”

The Shadows Between Us (ARC) by Tricia Levenseller

Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is back with an epic YA tale of ambition and love in The Shadows Between Us, set to be released in North America on February 25, 2020.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller, in exchange for an honest review.

Alessandra is tired of being overlooked, but she has a plan to gain power: woo the Shadow King, marry him, kill him and take his kingdom for herself. No one knows the extent of the freshly crowned Shadow King’s power. Some say he can command the shadows that swirl around him to do his bidding. Others say they speak to him, whispering the thoughts of his enemies. Regardless, Alessandra knows what she deserves, and she’s going to do everything within her power to get it. But Alessandra’s not the only one trying to kill the king. As attempts on his life are made, she finds herself trying to keep him alive long enough for him to make her his queen-all while struggling not to lose her heart. After all, who better for a Shadow King than a cunning, villainous queen?

Image result for the shadows between us"

Continue reading “The Shadows Between Us (ARC) by Tricia Levenseller”

Storm from the East (ARC) by Joanna Hathaway

Set to release in North America on February 11, 2020, Storm from the East is the second installment in Joanna Hathaway’s epic Glass Alliance series, following on the heels of Dark of the West. And it certainly lives up to its description of being “part war drama, part romance” – though it will be up to readers to decide whether that mix is for better, or for worse.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of Storm from the East by Joanna Hathaway, in exchange for an honest review.

War has begun, and the days of Athan’s and Aurelia’s secret, summer romance feel a world away. Led by Athan’s father, the revolutionary Safire have launched a secret assault upon the last royal kingdom in the South, hoping to depose the king and seize a powerful foothold on the continent. Athan proves a star pilot among their ranks, struggling to justify the violence his family has unleashed as he fights his way to the capital – where, unbeknownst to him, Aurelia has lived since the war’s onset. Determined to save the kingdom Athan has been ordered to destroy, she partners with a local journalist to inflame anti-Safire sentiment, all while learning this conflict might be far darker and more complex than she ever imagined. When the two reunite at last, Athan longing to shake the nightmare of combat and Aurelia reeling from the discovery of a long-buried family truth come to light, they’ll find the shadow of war stretches well beyond the battlefield. Each of them longs to rekindle the love they once shared… but each has a secret they’re desperate to hide.

Image result for storm from the east"

Continue reading “Storm from the East (ARC) by Joanna Hathaway”

The Stars We Steal (ARC) by Alexa Donne

Set to release in North America on February 4th, 2020, The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a gripping Science Fiction story about a young girl caught in a world of royal intrigue and lost love in her quest to save her family from ruin. Fans of Katharine McGee and Kiera Cass will be dazzled by this epic space romance that is sure to appeal to all ages of YA readers.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne, in exchange for an honest review.

Engagement season is in the air. Nineteen-year-old Princess Leonie Leo” Kolburg, heir to a faded European spaceship, has only one thing on her mind: which lucky bachelor can save her family from financial ruin? But when Leo’s childhood friend and first love, Elliot, returns as the captain of a successful whiskey ship, everything changes. Elliot was the one who got away, the boy Leo’s family deemed to be unsuitable for marriage. Now he’s the biggest catch of the season and he seems determined to make Leo’s life miserable. But old habits die hard, and as Leo navigates the glittering balls of the Valg Season, she finds herself falling for her first love in a game of love, lies, and past regrets.

Image result for the stars we steal alexa donne

Continue reading “The Stars We Steal (ARC) by Alexa Donne”

Ninth House (ARC) by Leigh Bardugo

Ninth House, released on October 8th, 2019, is the long-awaited adult debut by the beloved author of Shadow and Bone and Six of Crows. With this darkly lyrical new novel, Leigh Bardugo creates a mesmerizing tale of power, privilege, and dark magic set among the Ivy League elite.

Galaxy “Alex” Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale’s freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug-dealer boyfriends, dead-end jobs, and much, much worse. In fact, by age twenty, she is the sole survivor of a horrific, unsolved multiple homicide. Some might say she’s thrown her life away. But at her hospital bed, Alex is offered a second chance: to attend one of the world’s most prestigious universities on a full ride. What’s the catch, and why her? Still searching for answers, Alex arrives in New Haven tasked by her mysterious benefactors with monitoring the activities of Yale’s secret societies. Their eight windowless “tombs” are the well-known haunts of the rich and powerful, from high-ranking politicos to Wall Street’s biggest players. But their occult activities are more sinister and more extraordinary than any paranoid imagination might conceive. They tamper with forbidden magic. They raise the dead. And, sometimes, they prey on the living.

Image result for ninth house leigh bardugo

Continue reading “Ninth House (ARC) by Leigh Bardugo”

October 2019 Reading List

September was a crazy month for me – if you happen to follow me on Bookstagram, you may have seen that I accepted a new teaching role, and not only did I move into a new grade, but I also increased my work load to full-time! While this is thrilling and exciting (truly – it’s as if all my dreams are coming true!), it does mean that I have accrued quite the to be read pile!

So, as I settle into my new teaching role and my new routine, I am going to focusing on reading the books that are already on my shelves! These books are mostly ARCs that I received at the Indigo YA Fall Preview, though a couple are recent releases that I picked up in the past few weeks.

IMG_0217

Continue reading “October 2019 Reading List”

HCC #FrenzyPresents Fall Preview (2019-09-25)

A few Sundays ago, I had the privilege – and pleasure – of attending the Harper Collins Canada #FrenzyPresents Fall Preview event in Toronto, Ontario. This is only the second time I have been able to attend, but as with my first event, this HCC #FrenzyPresents event was a blast! Not only did I get an in-depth preview of so many fantastic upcoming YA releases, but I also had the chance to meet several of my fellow Canadian Book Bloggers, which was simply heartwarming. Truly, my heart is so full.

IMG_9957

Continue reading “HCC #FrenzyPresents Fall Preview (2019-09-25)”

September 2019 Reading List

As you may remember, I set myself some quite ambitious reading goals for August – with my online course completed, and a full month stretching out before me, I was feeling quite motivated. Unfortunately, after only a handful of books, I found myself stuck in quite the reading slump, and as a result I only ended up reading a grand total of four books in August. If you’re interested in knowing exactly what I read in August, you can check out my August Reading Wrap-Up.

That being said, I am definitely feeling motivated and ready to tackle another ambitious reading list this month! A short, but fantastic, read has got me out of my reading slump, and I am back to reading almost daily. As always, this list will be a blend of older releases I haven’t yet found the time to read, new releases I am excited to get my hands on, and a few Advanced Review Copies as well!

IMG_9963

Continue reading “September 2019 Reading List”