Bright Star (ARC) by Erin Swan

Released on August 13, 2019, Bright Star is Erin Swan’s YA fantasy debut, filled to the brim with adventurous tales of rebellion, romance, and finding one’s voice in the heart of a storm.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of Bright Star by Erin Swan, in exchange for an honest review. 

Paerolia has been at peace for two centuries, and all is well in the land-or so it seems. Beneath the surface, a tyrant is rising to power. A traumatic experience in Andra’s childhood has left her mute and subdued, a servant in the Chief Judge’s manor. But when an assassination team, led by the secretive and alluring Kael, infiltrates the manor and makes a quick escape, she takes her chance and flees with them. Andra is thrust into the ranks of a secret rebellion – a group of outcasts and believers seeking to overthrow the Chief Judge and replace the corrupt government with new members, ones who will restore and preserve the land they love. Now, the girl who was once an outcast must somehow become the leader Paerolia needs. But she is stronger than she believes – and with the help of a fiercely loyal dragon, she may just be the one to lead them all to victory.

Image result for bright star erin swan

Continue reading “Bright Star (ARC) by Erin Swan”

The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen

Released in North America on July 30th, 2019, The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen promised to be a powerful debut novel, filled to the brim with vengeance, survival, and sacrifice – perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake.

A future chieftain – Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime. A fugitive prince – When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses – and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns. A too-cunning bodyguard – Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’s life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own? 

Image result for the merciful crow

Continue reading “The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen”

Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim

If you’ve been itching to get your hands on Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim, now is the perfect time! Released on July 9th, 2019, Spin the Dawn is not only the Indigo Teen Staff Pick of the Month for August, but it is also a stunning read!

DISCLAIMER: I received a complimentary copy of Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review. 

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job. Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise. And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Image result for spin the dawn Continue reading “Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim”

August 2019 Reading List

Hello Bookworms!

As you may remember, I set myself some quite ambitious reading goals for July – despite a large portion of my summer being dedicated to my part-time job, and another large portion to an online course I was taking. Well, I am excited to announce that I found the time to read a whopping EIGHT books during the month of July – and I successfully completed my online course! If you’re interested in knowing exactly what I read in July, you can check out my July Wrap Up.

That being said, I am definitely feeling motivated and ready to tackle another ambitious reading list this month! As always, this list will be a blend of older releases I haven’t yet found the time to read, new releases I am excited to get my hands on, and since it is #ARCAugust, a few Advanced Review Copies as well!

IMG_0318

Continue reading “August 2019 Reading List”

July 2019 Reading Wrap-Up

At the beginning of July, I set myself quite the ambitious reading goal – my Reading List for July 2019 included 10 books. And while the beginning of July means the beginning of “summer vacation” for myself and countless other teachers, my summer certainly has not been all relaxation! Like many of my fellow teachers, a large portion of my summer has been dedicated to my part-time job, and another large portion to an online course I was taking (and have thankfully completed).

Despite all that, I clearly found enough time to read, because I managed to read eight books during the month of July! This bring my reading total for the year up to 46/50 books, which puts me 17 books ahead of schedule – and only 4 books away from achieving my reading goal for 2019!

IMG_0316

Continue reading “July 2019 Reading Wrap-Up”

The Good Luck Girls (ARC) by Charlotte Nicole Davis

Described as “Westworld meets The Handmaids TaleThe Good Luck Girls by Charlotte Nicole Davis certainly has a lot to live up to when it is released on October 1, 2019. And with a cast of diverse characters, a daring escape, and plenty of social commentary to boot, it certainly seems like The Good Luck Girls has it all.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of The Good Luck Girls by Charlotte Nicole Davis, in exchange for an honest review. 

The country of Arketta calls them Good Luck Girls – but they know their luck is anything but. Sold to a “welcome house” as children and branded with cursed markings. Trapped in a life they would never have chosen. When Clementine accidentally murders a man, the girls risk a dangerous escape and harrowing journey to find freedom, justice, and revenge in a country that wants them to have none of those things. Pursued by Arketta’s most vicious and powerful forces, both human and inhuman, their only hope lies in a bedtime story passed from one Good Luck Girl to another, a story that only the youngest or most desperate would ever believe. It’s going to take more than luck for them all to survive.

Image result for the good luck girls charlotte nicole davis

Continue reading “The Good Luck Girls (ARC) by Charlotte Nicole Davis”

The Grace Year (ARC) by Kim Liggett

Set to release on October 8th, 2019, The Grace Year by Kim Liggett is a deeply suspenseful book that brilliantly explores the high cost of a misogynistic world that denies women power and autonomy. Through sharp prose and gritty realism, The Grace Year examines the complex and sometimes twisted relationships between girls, the women they eventually become, and the difficult decisions they must make in-between.

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of The Grace Year by Kim Liggett, in exchange for an honest review. 

No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden. Girls are told they have the power to lure grown men from their beds, drive women mad with jealousy. They believe their very skin emits a powerful aphrodisiac, the potent essence of youth, of a girl on the edge of womanhood. That’s why they’re banished for their sixteenth year, to release their magic into the wild so they can return purified and ready for marriage. But not all of them will make it home alive. Sixteen-year-old Tierney James dreams of a better life-a society that doesn’t pit friend against friend or woman against woman, but as her own grace year draws near, she quickly realizes that it’s not just the brutal elements they must fear. It’s not even the poachers in the woods, men who are waiting for their chance to grab one of the girls in order to make their fortune on the black market. Their greatest threat may very well be each other. 

Image result for the grace year

Continue reading “The Grace Year (ARC) by Kim Liggett”

July 2019 Reading List

Happy Summer, Bookworms!

The beginning of July means the beginning of “summer vacation” for myself and countless other teachers – though my summer certainly won’t be all relaxation! Like many of my fellow teachers, a large portion of my summer will be dedicated to my part-time job, and another large portion to an online course I am taking.

Despite all that, I am still setting myself some ambitious reading goals – because I certainly hope my summer won’t be all work! Beyond this ambitious list, I am also hoping to complete some important updates to my blog and to get back into posting daily to my Bookstagram account!

img_0182.jpg

Continue reading “July 2019 Reading List”

BLOG UPDATE: Post #1

Hello Bookworms!

For those of you that follow me on Instagram, I recently shared my plans to update my blog – to give it a more modern, streamlined look. A look that reflects how far I have come since I started this blog just over three years ago.

The first step in this update was a bit of branding, which I have been hard at work on this past week (with some awesome artistic input from Flavia the Bibliophile herself!). I wanted something simple that would reflect my hopes for my blog going forward – not just what my blog is in this moment.

Continue reading “BLOG UPDATE: Post #1”