There Will Come A Darkness (ARC) by Katy Rose Pool

There Will Come A Darkness is Katy Rose Pool’s debut novel, which is set to release in North America on September 3rd, 2019. There Will Come A Darkness promises to be showstopping debut YA fantasy perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows meets Kristin Cashore’s Graceling. 

DISCLAIMER: Thank-you to Raincoast Books for providing me with an Advance Readers’ Edition of The Girl the Sea Gave Back by Adrienne Young, in exchange for an honest review.

The Age of Darkness approaches. Five lives stand in its way. Who will stop it . . . or unleash it? For generations, the Seven Prophets guided humanity. Using their visions of the future, they ended wars and united nations-until the day, one hundred years ago, when the Prophets disappeared. All they left behind was one final, secret prophecy, foretelling an Age of Darkness and the birth of a new Prophet who could be the world’s salvation . . . or the cause of its destruction. With chaos on the horizon, five souls are set on a collision course: A prince exiled from his kingdom. A ruthless killer known as the Pale Hand. A once-faithful leader torn between his duty and his heart.  A reckless gambler with the power to find anything or anyone. And a dying girl on the verge of giving up. One of them-or all of them-could break the world. Will they be savior or destroyer? 

Image result for there will come a darkness

There Will Come A Darkness is Katy Rose Pool promised to be thrilling and human, with plenty of twists and turns to keep readers guessing – until the very last page. And while Katy Rose Pool certainly delivered interesting characters and a plot with plenty of unexpected twists, the story itself seemed drawn out, and at times, a bit dull.

“He was a man grown now, and he knew the truth. His destiny was finalyl here, and it did not care whether or not he was ready for it” – Katy Rose Pool, There Will Come A Darkness

A prince exiled from his kingdom. A ruthless killer known as the Pale Hand. A once-faithful leader torn between his duty and his heart. A reckless gambler with the power to find anything or anyone. And a dying girl on the verge of giving up. There Will Come A Darkness introduces readers to several intriguing characters, including Ephyra, Anton, Hassan, Jude, and Beru.

  • Hassan is an exiled prince, on the run from a group of heretics who believe all Graced individuals should be purged, in a bid to equalize all people. Hassan finds himself faced with impossible choices, and ultimately puts the needs of his people above the importance of the truth.
  • Ephyra is a strong, independent female character who uses her Grace of Blood to keep her dying sister alive, despite the deadly consequences. Throughout the story, she struggles with the consequences of her decisions, but is ultimately always motivated by her love for her sister.
  • Jude has been raised since birth to become the Keeper of the Word and serve the promised Prophet, but he finds himself torn between his duty and his heart. But in the end, his duty and his heart will lead him along the same path, as he hurtles towards his destiny – for better or for worse.
  • Anton is a reckless gambler with a secret Grace of Sight, and a dark past that still haunts his present. Throughout the story, he is highly motivated to keep his Grace a secret, even as he begins to spin closer and closer to an encounter with destiny.
  • Finally, Beru is Ephyra’s sister, and she’s a dying girl who finally feels that maybe she and her sister have run out of options – and that the cost of her one life has become too great. Her path is a path of self-reflection and hardship, but among all the characters that Katy Rose Pool crafted, her path is perhaps the most selfless.

IMG_0171.JPG

Despite the depth and power of the characters themselves, There Will Come A Darkness still falls flat when it comes to the story and its execution. The story itself is split into three sections – Harbinger, Oath, and The Tower. While the first section, Harbinger, does an excellent job of introducing the characters and setting the stage, the second section, Oath, leaves much to be desired. In this middle section of the book, the story becomes very drawn out, and it quickly becomes apparent that Katy Rose Pool is relying upon plot twists to keep the story interesting while the characters muddle their way along to the climax. This leaves the final section of the book, The Tower, feeling rushed and harried – though nonetheless satisfying and thrilling. While Katy Rose Pool certainly had a wonderful idea for a story – with a world filled with graces and prophets, and a secret prophecy outlining the end of the world as it is known – the story itself is messy and flawed.

IMG_0308

Overall,readers will love There Will Come A Darkness is Katy Rose Pool for its beguilingly human cast of characters, but may find that the story falls flat when it comes to the execution of the story, which is disjointed and poorly paced (3.5/5).

One thought on “There Will Come A Darkness (ARC) by Katy Rose Pool

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s