The Boneless Mercies (ARC) by April Genevieve Tucholke

The Boneless Mercies by April Genevieve Tucholke is set to be released on October 2, 2018, and promises a story full of fierce girls, bloodlust, tenuous alliances, and unapologetic quests for glory. Early reviews promise that this elegantly spun tale challenges the power of storytelling – and who gets to be the storyteller. Basically, The Boneless Mercies  sounds perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater, V.E. Schwab, and Heidi Heilig.

Frey, Ovie, Juniper, and Runa are the Boneless Mercies – girls hired to kill quickly, quietly, and mercifully. But Frey is weary of the death trade and, having been raised on the heroic sagas of her people, dreams of a bigger life. When she hears of an unstoppable monster ravaging a nearby town, Frey decides this is the Mercies’ one chance out. The fame and fortune of bringing down such a beast would ensure a new future for all the Mercies. In fact, her actions may change the story arc of women everywhere.

Image result for the boneless mercies book

Continue reading “The Boneless Mercies (ARC) by April Genevieve Tucholke”

MINI MONDAY: Smoke in the Sun by Renee Ahdieh

Smoke in the Sun by Renee Ahdieh is the highly anticipated sequel to New York Times bestselling Flame in the Mist. Released in North America on June 5, 2018, Smoke in the Sun is an addictive, sumptuous finale that will leave readers breathless.

After Okami is captured in the Jukai forest, Mariko has no choice–to rescue him, she must return to Inako and face the dangers that have been waiting for her in the Heian Castle. She tricks her brother, Kenshin, and betrothed, Raiden, into thinking she was being held by the Black Clan against her will, playing the part of the dutiful bride-to-be to infiltrate the emperor’s ranks and uncover the truth behind the betrayal that almost left her dead. With the wedding plans already underway, Mariko pretends to be consumed with her upcoming nuptials, all the while using her royal standing to peel back the layers of lies and deception surrounding the imperial court. But each secret she unfurls gives way to the next, ensnaring Mariko and Okami in a political scheme that threatens their honor, their love and the very safety of the empire.

Image result for smoke in the sun renee ahdieh

Continue reading “MINI MONDAY: Smoke in the Sun by Renee Ahdieh”

Ash Princess by Laura Sebastien

When Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian was released in North America on April 24, 2018 it became an instant New York Times Bestseller – and with good reason! Ash Princess is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir, that delivers on all aspects!

Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Fire Queen, was murdered before her eyes. On that day, the Kaiser took Theodosia’s family, her land, and her name. Theo was crowned Ash Princess–a title of shame to bear in her new life as a prisoner. For ten years Theo has been a captive in her own palace. She’s endured the relentless abuse and ridicule of the Kaiser and his court. She is powerless, surviving in her new world only by burying the girl she was deep inside. Then, one night, the Kaiser forces her to do the unthinkable. With blood on her hands and all hope of reclaiming her throne lost, she realizes that surviving is no longer enough. But she does have a weapon: her mind is sharper than any sword. And power isn’t always won on the battlefield. For ten years, the Ash Princess has seen her land pillaged and her people enslaved. That all ends here.

Image result for ash princess by laura sebastian

Continue reading “Ash Princess by Laura Sebastien”

The Bookie Box June 2018 Unboxing

Exciting news, Bookworms! I am now officially a Rep for The Bookie Box, and that means that I will be featuring my unboxings here!

The Bookie Box is a Book Subscription Box that includes a newly released YA book, and 4-5 bookish goodies (including an exclusive candle and bookmark from That Bookie Bookmarks) every month. Past box themes have included Kingdoms and Dark Secrets, Magical Worlds, Vampires, Zombies, and Monsters – Oh My!, and Villains and Vengeance.

The July Theme is “Brutal Secrets and Conspiracies”, and it will a newly released YA book perfect for fans of The Illuminae Files, Divergent, The Hunger Games, and The Lunar Chronicles. Sounds awesome, right? If you’re interested in subscribing, be sure to check out their website and subscribe soon!

So what was in this month’s box?

Image result for the bookie box

Continue reading “The Bookie Box June 2018 Unboxing”

Onyx and Ivory by Mindee Arnett

In the daring new read, acclaimed author Mindee Arnett thrusts readers into a beautiful, dangerous, and magical world in this stunningly epic and romantic fantasy for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah Raasch. Onyx and Ivory by Mindee Arnett was released in North America on May 15, 2018, and while I was hesitantly optimistic about this one, I am so glad that it was included in the May 2018 FairyLoot, because I absolutely loved this book!

They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate Brighton inherited from her father after he tried to assassinate the high king of Rime. Cast out of the nobility, Kate now works for the royal courier service. Only the most skilled ride for the Relay and only the fastest survive, for when night falls, the drakes—deadly flightless dragons—come out to hunt. Fortunately, Kate has a secret edge: She is a wilder, born with forbidden magic that allows her to influence the minds of animals. And it’s this magic that leads her to a caravan massacred by drakes in broad daylight—the only survivor Corwin Tormaine, the son of the king. Her first love, the boy she swore to forget after he condemned her father to death. With their paths once more entangled, Kate and Corwin must put the past behind them to face this new threat and an even darker menace stirring in the kingdom.

(Cover Photo Credits: Paws & Paperbacks)

Image result for onyx & ivory mindee arnett

Continue reading “Onyx and Ivory by Mindee Arnett”

MINI MONDAY: War Storm by Victoria Aveyard

On May 15, 2018, the #1 New York Times bestselling Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard came to a stunning conclusion with the release of the fourth book in the series, War Storm. In this epic conclusion to Victoria Aveyard’s stunning series, Mare must embrace her fate and summon all her power . . . for all will be tested, but not all will survive.

Victory comes with a price. Mare Barrow learned this all too well when Cal’s betrayal nearly destroyed her. Now determined to protect her heart—and secure freedom for Reds and newbloods like her—Mare resolves to overthrow the kingdom of Norta once and for all . . . starting with the crown on Maven’s head. But no battle is won alone, and before the Reds may rise as one, Mare must side with the boy who broke her heart in order to defeat the boy who almost broke her. Cal’s powerful Silver allies, alongside Mare and the Scarlet Guard, prove a formidable force. But Maven is driven by an obsession so deep, he will stop at nothing to have Mare as his own again, even if it means demolish everything—and everyone—in his path. War is coming, and all Mare has fought for hangs in the balance. Will victory be enough to topple the Silver kingdoms? Or will the little lightning girl be forever silenced?

Image result for war storm victoria aveyard

Continue reading “MINI MONDAY: War Storm by Victoria Aveyard”

June 2018 Reading List

Hi Bookworms!

After a very busy April and May, I am happy to report that I am now officially done university (next up: Convocation!), and I am now working. While this means that I am still relatively busy, I am hoping to find myself with a bit more time for reading, reviewing and photography, among other things.

I even managed to get a decent amount of reading done in May – I finished several books, including Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian, Stormcaster by Cinda Williams Chima, War Storm by Victoria Aveyard, A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J Maas, The Girl You Thought I Was by Rebecca Phillips, and The Bird and the Blade by Megan Bannen! I am hoping to have reviews available for all of those I haven’t yet reviewed in the next couple weeks, so stay tuned!

IMG_7286.JPG

After all that reading, my To Be Read basket is feeling a little empty! So (of course), I have once again put together what is undoubtedly an overly optimistic reading list for June 2018. This lists includes some books from previous months I simply haven’t had a chance t read yet, in addition to some exciting new releases!

MY JUNE 2018 READING LIST IS:

  1. Iron Gold by Pierce Brown (Release Date: January 16, 2018)
  2. Onyx and Ivory by Mindee Arnett (Release Date: May 15, 2018)
  3. Legendary by Stephanie Garber (Release Date: May 29, 2018)
  4. LIFEL1K3 by Jay Kristoff (Release Date: May 29, 2018)

  5. Smoke in the Sun by Renee Ahdieh (Release Date: June 5, 2018)
  6. Whisper of the Tide by Sarah Tolscer (Release Date: June 5, 2018)
  7. City of Bastards by Andrew Shvartz (Release Date: June 5, 2018)
  8. Eden Conquered by Joelle Charbonneau (Release Date: June 5, 2018)
  9. Rage by Cora Carmack (Release Date: June 11, 2018)
  10. A Reaper at the Gates by Sabaa Tahir (Release Date: June 12, 2018)

*Please note that the above listed release dates reflect Canadian/North American Book Releases, and may not be accurate for international locations.